Edwin H. Mookini Library

 

Starting Research / Research Guides / Writing Lab / Online Resources
On this page: Bibliographies / Biographical Resources / Concordances / Dictionaries and Encyclopedias / Historical Resources / Internet Resources / Language / Media / Periodicals / Citing Sources / Loans from Other Libraries

Bibliographies

Bergeron, David Moore and Geraldo U. de Sousa. Shakespeare: A Study and Research Guide. 1987.
PR 2894 .B44 1987.

Harris, L.L. and M.W. Scott, eds., Shakespearean Criticism: Excerpts from the Criticism of William Shakespeare's Plays and Poetry from the First Published Appraisals to Current Evaluations. 1984- .
Ref. PR 2965 S43 1984.

Magill, Frank N., ed., Magill's Bibliography of Literary Criticism, Vol 4: Shakespeare to Zola.
Ref. PN 523 M25 v. 4.

McManaway, J.C. and Jeanne Roberts. A Selective Bibliography of Shakespeare: Editions, Textual Studies, Commentary. 1975.
PR 2894 M23.

Sajdak, Bruce T. Shakespeare Index: An Annotated Bibliography of Critical Articles on the Plays, 1959-1983. 1992.
Ref. PR 2894 .S25 1992.

Wells, Stanley. Shakespeare: A Bibliographical Guide. 1990.
PR 2894 .S5 1991.

These two serials provide annual bibliographies:
Shakespeare Quarterly (located in Periodicals). Includes an annual bibliography issue.

Shakespeare Survey.(PR 28888 .C33). An annual publication with a bibliography for the year.

Biographical Resources

Bate, Jonathan. The Genius of Shakespeare. 1998. PR 2937 .B38 1998.

Greenblatt, Stephan. Will in the World: How Shakespeare became Shakespeare. 2004. PR 2894 .G74 2004

Honan, Park. Shakespeare: A Life. 1998. PR 2894 .H65 1998.

Concordances

Electronic versions of the works usually allow easy searching of words and phrases. Try The Works of the Bard.

Spevack, Marvin. The Harvard Concordance to Shakespeare. Ref PR 2892 .S62.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Andrews, John F., ed. Shakespeare's World and Work: An Encyclopedia for Students. 2001.
Ref. PR 2892 .S56 2001.

Boyce, Charles and David Allen White. Shakespeare A to Z: The Essential Reference to His Plays, His Poems, his Life and Times, and More. 1990.
Ref. PR 2892 .B69 1990.

Campbell, Oscar James, ed. The Reader's Encyclopedia of Shakespeare. 1966.
PR 2892 C3.

Fox, Levi, ed. The Shakespeare Handbook. 1987. Includes chapters on Shakespeare in performance and on film.
Ref. PR 2976 .S3374 1987.

Jackson, Russell. The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare on Film. 2000.
PR 3093 .C36 2000.

Wells, Stanley. The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare Studies. 1986.
PR 2976 .C29 1986.

Historical Resources

Gurr, Andrew. Playgoing in Shakespeare's London. 1987.
PN 2596. L6 G87 1987.

Internet Resources

Internet Public Library's Shakespeare Bookshelf

Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet

Google Book Search provides selected pages from digitized books on all subjects

Language

Coye, Dale F. Pronouncing Shakespeare's Words: A Guide from A to Zounds. Ref. PR 3081 .C87 1998.

Kermode, Frank. Shakespeare's Language. PR 3072 .K47 2000.

Oxford English Dictionary. Ref. PE 1625 .O87 1989.

Media

Great Hamlets. Videotape PN 16

Playing Shakespeare: The Royal Shakespeare Company. DVDs. At the Circulation Desk: DVD PN 1

William Shakespeare: Comedies, Histories, and Tragedies. Lectures by Peter Saccio on six DVDs. At the Circulation Desk: DVD PN 2

Finding Periodical Articles

The library subscribes to about 1,100 periodicals in print format, and we have access to another 24,000 online journals. Use the "Find Periodicals" box located on the library's homepage to locate journals we have either in print or electronically.

Current issues of print periodicals are displayed on the Main Level behind the Reference area, arranged in broad subject areas. Most of our periodical backfiles are on the Upper Level, shelved alphabetically by title.

To find articles in periodicals on a specific topic, you need to use a periodical index. For research on Shakespeare, the best index we have is:

Academic Periodical Search Provides many articles in full text. When full text is not available, abstracts are usually provided.

Also try:
JSTOR A journal archive with full-text of over 200 older journals covering a wide range of topics.

For articles in journals that we don't have, see "Loans from Other Libraries" below.

Citing Sources

MLA handbook for writers of research papers. 2003. This is a detailed reference book describing all of the MLA's requirements with respect to general format and citations.
Ref LB2369 .G53 2003. Another non-circulating copy at the Reference Desk; circulating copies in the general collection.

How to Cite Sources This UH Hilo Library page has links to web resources on citations. Make sure to check out "Research and Documentation Online" by Diana Hacker, which tells you how to cite most formats in MLA style.

Loans from Other Libraries

Books may be borrowed from other libraries in the UH System. Click here for more information.

Students may also obtain copies of articles from journals to which the library does not subscribe through our intrasystem loan service.

Fees may apply.