Edwin H. Mookini Library

 

Starting Research / Research Guides / Writing Lab / Online Resources
Subject Encyclopedias / Biographical Sources / Books / Periodicals / Locate Articles / Test Info / Other Sources / Internet /

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science, 2001. 3rd ed. 4 volumes.
Ref. BF31 .E52 2001 v.1-4

Encyclopedia of Psychology, 2000. Comprehensive 8-volume encyclopedia for the field of psychology. This encyclopedia is also available online through PsycBOOKS.
Ref. BF31 .E52 2000

A Dictionary of Psychology, 2001.
Ref. BF31 .C64 2001

Dictionary of Psychology, 1999.
Ref. BF31 .C72 1999

Dictionary of Theories, Laws, and Concepts in Psychology, 1998.
Ref. BF31 .R625 1998

The Oxford Companion to the Mind, 2004.
Ref. BF31 .O94 2004

Selected Related Subject Encyclopedias

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Psychology, 1995.
Ref. HM251 .B476 1995

Comprehensive Clinical Psychology
Ref. RC467 .C597 1998

Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology, 2004.
Ref. BF636 .E52 2004

Encyclopedia of Mental Health, 2001.
Ref. RC437 .K34 2001

Encyclopedia of Psychiatry, Psychology and Psychoanalysis, 1996.
Ref. RC437 .E49 1996

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Ref. H41 .I58 2001

Social Science Encyclopedia, 2004.
Ref. H41 .S63 2004

Biographical Sources

Prominent psychologists are discussed in most of the psychology encyclopedias and dictionaries listed above. Also see:

History of Psychology in Autobiography. Volumes 1-8, 1930-1989. Notable psychologists offer sketches of their own lives and work.
BF105 .H5

Biographical Dictionary of Psychology, 1997.
Ref. BF109 .A1 B56 1997

Names in the History of Psychology: A Biographical Sourcebook, 1975.
Ref. BF109 .A1 Z85

Great Psychologists and Their Times: Scientific Insights into Psychology's History, 2002.
BF109 .A1 .S56 2002

Finding Books

Voyager Catalog on the World Wide Web Hawai'i Voyager, available from the library's home page, catalogs books and audiovisual materials in the library.

UH Manoa's collections are also included in Hawai'i Voyager. Many of their books are available to our students through our intrasystem loan service. Fees may apply.

Finding Psychology Books to Check Out:
Psychology: BF (Main Level outside the Hawaiian Collection)
Mental Health: RA790 (Lower Level)
Neurosciences and Psychiatry: RC 321-571 (Lower Level)

PsycBOOKS (licensed for UHH users only)
Full text for hundreds of books published by the American Psychological Association.

Finding Periodical Articles by Subject

In order to find articles in these periodicals on a specific topic, use one or more of the library's periodical indexes. Online indexes of most value in Psychology are:

Academic Periodical Search.
Search both Academic Search Premier Psychology and the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection simultaneously. These databases provide many articles in full text. If the full text is not available, very often abstracts are provided. These indexes are excellent to start with, but you may also need to use other indexes to make sure your search has covered all relevant journals.

PsycINFO. (licensed for UHH users only)
1887-present. The leading index in the field, it provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines and covers approximately 1,400 journals, books and chapters in books, reports, theses and dissertations. PsycINFO links to full text journal articles found in the American Psychological Association's PsycARTICLES database.

Related Indexes:

ScienceDirect
1995-present. A full-text database covering over 1,000 academic journals in the sciences and social sciences.

ERIC via CSA (licensed for UHH users only)
1966- present. The leading index in the field of Education provides 700,000+ citations to journal articles and reports.

ERIC via EBSCOhost

Sociological Abstracts (licensed for UHH users only)
1963-present. Indexes and abstracts 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth abstracts of journal articles.

How to Find an Article in the Library Once You have a Citation

To see if the Library can provide access to a particular journal article, use the "Find Periodicals" box on the Library home page. Type in the title of the journal (not the title of the article within the journal).

Most of our print periodical backfiles are on the Upper Level, shelved alphabetically by title. Current issues are displayed on the Main Level behind the Reference area, arranged in broad subject areas.

Students may also obtain copies of articles from journals to which the library does not subscribe through our intrasystem loan service. Fees may apply.

Sources of Test Information

Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment, 2004.
General Folio BF 176 .C654 2004

Handbook of Psychological Assessment, 2003. We have this in print format and also as an eBook.
BF176 .G76 2003

Mental Measurements Yearbook. Contains names, descriptions, and critical evaluations of testing instruments.
Ref. Z5814 P8 B932

Tests in Print. Bibliography of tests for use in education, psychology and industry with concise descriptions of tests and references to reviews.
Ref. BF 698.5 .B878

Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology..., 1997. For each test covered, the book provides: author, age level, purpose, description, time required, scoring, cost, and publisher.
Ref. BF176 .T43 1997

Other Reference Sources

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-IV. 4th ed.
*CLOSED RC455.2 .C4 D54 1994

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 2001. Includes information on citation formats. (APA's guide to citing electronic resources may be found on the Web at http://www.apastyle.org/elecref.html)
*CLOSED BF76.7 .P83 2001

Complete Guide to Graduate School Admission: Psychology, Counseling and Related Professions, 2000. An electronic book from netLibrary.

Graduate Study in Psychology (annual). Information on graduate education in psychology, programs of study, financial assistance, requirements for admission and application to graduate school, and a summary of graduate programs.
*CLOSED BF77 .B73

The Psychologist's Companion: A Guide to Scientific Writing for Students and Researchers, 2003.
BF76.8 .S73 2003

Library Use: Handbook for Psychology, 2003. How to locate and use the psychology literature in the library and beyond.
Ref. BF 76.8 R43 2003

Research Methods in Psychology, 2003. This is volume 2 of the 12-volume Handbook of Psychology
BF121 .H1955 2003

*Ask for CLOSED items at the Circulation Desk.

Selected Internet Gateways

Psych Web. Links to helpful Web sites for undergraduate psychology majors.

PsychCrawler. Site produced by the American Psychological Association. Connects to a limited number of high quality Web sites.

Encyclopedia of Psychology. Links to some 2,000 Web sites on all aspects of psychology.

Social Psychology Network.