INTRODUCTION TO PHARMACOLOGY
Goodman & Gilman’s the pharmacological basis of therapeutics. Editor, Laurence L. Brunton; associate editors, John S. Lazo, Keith L. Parker.(11th ed) New York : McGraw-Hill, c2006.
General Collection: RM300.G644 2006
The textbook of pharmaceutical medicine / edited by John P. Griffin and John O’Grady. Edition: 5th ed. Publisher: Oxford ; Malden, Mass. : Blackwell, c2006.
General Collection: RM301.25 .T49 2006
Brody’s human pharmacology: molecular to clinical / editors, Kenneth P. Minneman, Lynn Wecker; consulting editors, Joseph Larner, Theodore M. Brody. Publisher: Philadelphia, Pa.: Elsevier Mosby, c2005.
General Collection: RM300 .H86 2005
Basic & clinical pharmacology / edited by Bertram G. Katzung. 9th ed. Publisher: New York : Lange Medical Books/McGraw Hill, c2004.
General Collection: RM300 .B285 2004
TOP OF PAGE
REFERENCE BOOKS
5 Minute Clinical Consult 2008
*StatRef
American Drug Index. Philadelphia, Lippincott. 2005
Reference Collection: RS355 .A48
Applied therapeutics: the clinical use of drugs / edited by Mary Anne Koda-Kimble ... [et al.]; assistant editors, Brian K. Alldredge, Robin L. Corelli. 8th ed.
Publisher: Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, c2005.
Reference Collection: RM262 .A65 2005
Burger’s medicinal chemistry and drug discovery. Burger, Alfred. 6th ed. / [edited] by Donald J. Abraham. Publisher: Hoboken, N.J.: Wiley, c2003.
Reference Collection: RS403 .B8 2003
Detailed Drug Information for the Consumer (old title: USP-DI Advice for the Patient)
*StatRef
Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations 2005
*StatRef
Drug facts and comparisons. St. Louis: Facts and Comparisons, 2005.
Reference Collection: RM300 .F33
Drug information handbook / Charles F. Lacy ... [et al.]. Edition: 13th ed., 2005-2006. Hudson, OH : Lexi-Comp, c2005.
Reference Collection: RM301.12 .D78 2005/2006
The Essential guide to prescription drugs. Publisher: New York : Harper & Row, 2006.
Reference Collection: RS51 .E85
Handbook of clinical drug data. Edition: 10th ed. / editors, Philip O. Anderson, James E. Knoben, William G. Troutman. New York : McGraw-Hill Medical Pub. Division, c2002.
Reference Collection: RM301.12 .H36 2002
Handbook of Injectable Drugs 2007
*StatRef
Handbook of non-prescription drugs
Reference Collection: RS250 .N66 2004
Harrison’s principles of internal medicine
Reference Collection: RC46 .H333 2005
*Also in StatRef
ICD-9-CM 2008 V. 1, 2 & 3 the International Classification of Diseases (ICD)
*StatRef
Index nominum, international drug directory / edited by Swiss Pharmaceutical Society. 18th Ed.
Reference Collection: RS356 .I53 2004
Litt’s drug eruption reference manual: including drug interactions
Reference Collection: RM302.5 .L5 2005
Martindale: the complete drug reference / edited by Sean C. Sweetman.
Reference Collection: RA141.3 . M3 2005
The Merck index: an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals
Reference Collection: RS51 .M4 2006
Merck Manual Diagnostic Therapy
*StatRef
Mosby’s drugconsult. 2002
Reference Collection: RS55.2 .P48
Natural products: drug discovery and therapeutic medicine
General Collection: RS160 .N38 2005
Pink Sheet (F-D-C Reports. Prescription Pharmaceuticals and Biotechnology)
Periodicals Collection
PDR guide to drug interactions, side effects, and indications
Reference Collection: RS75 .P3 2008
Red Book: pharmacy’s fundamental reference
Reference Collection: Z695 .L695 2005
Tyler’s honest herbal: a sensible guide to the use of herbs and related remedies
Reference Collection: RM666.H33 T94 1999
Trease and Evans’ pharmacognosy
Reference Collection: RS160 .T75 2002
Review of Natural Products 2008
*StatRef
Stockley’s drug interactions: a source book of interactions, their mechanisms, clinical importance and management
Reference Collection: RM302 .S76 2006
*See StatRef for more electronic titles
TOP OF PAGE
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Encyclopedia of biological chemistry / editors, William J. Lennarz, M. Daniel Lane.
Reference Collection: QD415.A25 E53 2004
Encyclopedia of biopharmaceutical statistics / edited by Shein-Chung Chow.
Reference Collection: RM301.25 .E53 2003
Encyclopedia of clinical pharmacy / edited by Joseph T. DiPiro.
Reference Collection: RM262 .E53 2003
Encyclopedia of common natural ingredients used in food, drugs, and cosmetics / Albert Y. Leung, Steven Foster. Leung, Albert Y.
Reference Collection: QD415.A25 L48 2003
Encyclopedia of dietary supplements / edited by Paul M. Coates ... [et al.].
Reference Collection: RM258.5 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of human nutrition / editor-in-chief, Benjamin Caballero ; editors, Lindsay Allen, Andrew Prentice.
Reference Collection: QP141 .E526 2005
Encyclopedia of inorganic chemistry / editor-in-chief R. Bruce King.
Reference Collection: QD148 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of pharmaceutical technology / edited by James Swarbrick and James C. Boylan.
Reference Collection: RS192 .E53 2002
Encyclopedia of psychoactive plants: ethnopharmacology and its applications / Christian Ratsch ; foreword by Albert Hofmann ; translated by John R. Baker with
assistance from Annabel Lee and Cornelia Ballent. Reference Collection: QK99.A1 R2813 2005
Encyclopedia of toxicology / editor-in-chief, Philip Wexler; associate editors, Bruce D. Anderson... [et al.].
Reference Collection: RA1193 .E53 2005
Encyclopedic reference of molecular pharmacology / Stefan Offermanns, Walter Rosenthal, eds.
Reference Collection: RM301.65 .E53 2004
TOP OF PAGE
DICTIONARIES
Dictionary of medical acronyms & abbreviations / compiled and edited by Stanley Jablonski. 5th ed. Publisher: Philadelphia, PA : Saunders, 2005.
Reference Collection: R123 .J24 2005
A dictionary of natural products: terms in the field of pharmacognosy relating to natural medicinal and pharmaceutical materials and the plants, animals, and minerals from which they are derived / by George Macdonald Hocking. Medford, NJ : Plexus Pub., c1997.
Reference Collection: RS160 .H55 1997
Dictionary of pharmacy / Dennis B. Worthen, editor-in-chief ; Julian H. Fincher ... [et al.], contributing editors. Publisher: New York: Pharmaceutical Products Press, c2004.
Reference Collection: RS51 .D482 2004
Oxford dictionary of biochemistry and molecular biology / edited by A.D. Smith ... [et al.]. Edition: Rev. ed. Publisher: Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2000.
Reference Collection: QD415.A25 O94 2000
MedlinePlus Medical Dictionary
TOP OF PAGE
ELECTRONIC BOOKS
StatRef! A cross-searchable, full-text health information resource that includes calculation tools, a medical dictionary, patient information and core titles in General Medicine and Pharmacy.
PsycBooks (licensed for UHH users only)
Contains the full text of articles from APA periodicals and selected EPF (Educational Publishing Foundation) periodicals since 1988.
NCBI Bookshelf
The Bookshelf is a growing collection of biomedical books that can be searched directly by typing a concept into the textbox above and selecting "Go". Try one of these searches: cell cycle control, immunodeficiency or protein evolution.
Ebrary
To use you must download ebrary reader. Search by title, author, text and subject. For example search drugs as a subject.
TOP OF PAGE
SUBJECT SEARCHING IN THE VOYAGER CATALOG

Books and media on all subjects are indexed in UH Hilo’s Voyager catalog.
A click on the links below will perform the search in UH Hilo’s catalog. Subject headings used by the library, under which books on nursing can be located in most card, book, and online catalogs, include the following:
Pharmacology will retrieve books and media on pharmacology in general as well as more specific aspects of the subject.
The following terms also bring up many titles relevant to pharmacology:
Alternative Medicine
Diagnosis
Drug Abuse
Drug Therapy
Medicinal
Pharmaceutical Chemistry
Pharmaceutical Technology
Pharmacy
Therapeutics
Traditional Medicine
Vaccines
LIBRARY PHARMACY LIST Updated every month
Use Hawai‘i Voyager (the library’s online catalog) to search for books in the library collection. From the library's homepage, use the UH - Hilo Basic Search or the UH Hilo - Advanced Search to search by Author, Subject, Title, or Keyword. You can also Search all UH System Libraries and request items from other libraries.
TOP OF PAGE
FINDING BOOKS IN MAINLAND LIBRARIES
WorldCat lists books, audiovisual materials, and other items held by some 18,000 libraries worldwide. Its 1.3 billion items may be searched by author, keyword, title, and ISBN.
Once you have found a title you're interested in, you need to check our library's Voyager catalog to see if we have the book.
If you’re interested in a title that is not held by UH Hilo or any other library in the UH system, you may ask us to try to obtain it via interlibrary loan. Please be aware that it can take from three to five weeks for such books to arrive here. For more information and instructions on requesting material from other libraries, please click here.
TOP OF PAGE
DRUG INFORMATION DATABASES
Lexi-Comp ONLINE is an Internet-based application providing real-time access to the most current and accurate point-of-care information available. The user-friendly layout provides quick access to every Lexi-Comp clinical databases and application. Lexi Drugs, Lexi-Comp’s most comprehensive drug database, covers every patient population as well as the following clinical specialties: Pharmacy, Nursing, Cardiology, Oncology, Psychiatry, Anesthesiology, and Dentistry.
Facts and Comparisons (licensed for UHH users only) A primary source for drug information for pharmacists, physicians, nurses, and other health care professionals, provides drug information, interactions, herbal information, and patient medication handouts.
TOP OF PAGE
EVIDENCE-BASED MEDICINE (EBM) RESOURCES
Links to websites, tutorials, systematic reviews, and more.
TOP OF PAGE
JOURNALS and DATABASES

Finding Articles in Print and Online
The vast majority of journals we have available are now online. In order to find out if we have access to a journal, either in print format or online, use the “Find Periodicals” box on the library’s homepage. Type in the title of the journal (not the title of the article within the journal).
If we have it online, a link will be provided to the journals homepage, from which you may find the specific issue and article you’re looking for. If we have the journal in print format, the system will take you to the Voyager catalog record for the journal. It will tell you what years we have, and most likely will tell you we keep the journal in the Periodical Backfile Collection on the Upper Level of the Library.
Obtaining Articles from Journals the Library Does Not Have
Students may often obtain articles from journals to which the library does not subscribe. Through a process called “intrasystem loan,” this library requests articles from another library in the UH system. There is a $1.00 charge for the photocopy.
If no library in the UH system subscribes to a journal, it may still be possible for us to obtain the article, this time through “interlibrary loan.” For this service, we request items from libraries outside the UH system. Students may request ILL for a cost of $3.00 per article. It may take from three to five weeks to receive the article.
Click here for additional information and forms for both intrasystem and interlibrary loans.
PubMed/Medline
PubMed is a free search engine offering access to the MEDLINE database of citations and abstracts of biomedical research articles. The core subject is medicine, and PubMed covers fields related to medicine, such as nursing and other allied health disciplines. It also provides very full coverage of the related biomedical sciences, such as biochemistry and cell biology. It is offered by the United States National Library of Medicine as part of the Entrez information retrieval system. UHH library has linked our holdings to PubMed. Check the Link Out tab on the right side to see if our library has access to the journal.
Tutorials for PubMed PubMed Fact Sheet
Agricola
This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 2.5 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
Alt HealthWatch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for nearly 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.
Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts®, produced by BIOSIS, is a complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. This database contains nearly 7.7 million archival records from as far back as 1969, with more than 370,000 citations added each year.
CAB Abstracts (licensed for UHH users only)
CAB Abstracts (1973 to Present), produced by CABI Publishing, covers the significant research and development literature in the applied life sciences, including agriculture, forestry, human nutrition, veterinary medicine and the environment. Coverage dates back to 1973.
CINAHL (Access limited to 12 simultaneous users)
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for 2,857 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982.
Lexis-Nexis AcademicUnivers: Some pharmacy trade and pharmaceutical industry materials are covered in Lexis-Nexis.
Science Direct
Full text for articles published in Elsevier and Academic Press journals since 1995; abstracts provided for older articles and articles in non-subscribed journals. Covers all sciences, arts and humanities, business and economics, environment and energy, medicine and pharmacology, psychology, and social sciences.
Pharmacist's Letter
This monthly newsletter lists New Drugs approved by the FDA and Health Canada, Rumor vs. Truth topics, and has charts and Patient Handouts.
First-time users: click on"I Need a User ID#"
TOP OF PAGE
PDA RESOURCES
ePocrates
Provides a clinical drug database with about 2,800 drug monographs for the PDA. Each monograph includes information on pricing, adverse reactions, contraindications, pharmacokinetics as well as related drug monograph topics. The autoupdate function, which is engaged when the palm pilot is connected to the internet, provides information on new drugs, new indications, and recalls. Available as a free download and for purchase; purchased version has more features
Medline on Tap
MD on Tap is an application for PDAs that retrieves MEDLINE® citations directly from the PDA through a wireless connection to the Internet.
John Hopkins Antibiotic Guide
The Johns Hopkins POC-IT (Point of Care Information Technology) Antibiotic (ABX) Guide is a handheld-ready adaptation of the online ABX Guide. It is optimized for use at the point of care for Palm OS
devices.
WISER (Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders)
designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents. Developed by the NLM, WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice. WISER is available for Windows, PocketPC, and Palm OS.
TOP OF PAGE
EDUCATION - WEBSITES

Accreditation manual for professional degree programs
Council for Pharmacy Education
Amended May, 2002. 9th ed. Chicago, IL: ACPE, 2002.
Accreditation standards and guidelines
Revised PharmD standards, adopted January 15, 2006… ACPE, 2006.
Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education.
Directory of accredited providers of continuing pharmaceutical education
Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education.
P.L.A.N.: Pharmacists' Learning Assistance Network
Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education.. Chicago, IL: ACPE.
National Association of Boards of Pharmacy
Park Ridge, ILL: NABP, Updated as necessary
Careers in Pharmacy
AACP Pharmacy career options
TOP OF PAGE
ASSOCIATIONS - WEBSITES

AACP
American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) is the national organization representing the interests of pharmacy education and educators.
ACPE
Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) is the national agency for the accreditation of professional degree programs in pharmacy and providers of continuing pharmacy education.
American Pharmacist Association (APhA)
APhA, dedicated to helping all pharmacists improve medication use and advance patient care, is the first-established and largest association of pharmacists in the United States.
Google Directory Pharmacist Associations
Hawaii Pharmacist Association (HPhA)
The Hawai‘i Pharmacists Association (HPhA) is the only volunteer organization that represents pharmacy practice in the State of Hawai‘i.
TOP OF PAGE
DIRECTORIES - WEBSITES
Bourne, David. Virtual library pharmacy
This website includes all the Pharmacy Related Internet Resources
David Bourne, 1994-
Pharmacy-related academic institutions on the Internet
This page contains regularly updated information on schools of pharmacy and pharmacy-related academic institutions.
PharmWeb, 1994
TOP OF PAGE
RECOMMENDED WEBSITES
Drug Information
Center Watch
An international listing of clinical research trials. You can use this listing to search for clinical trials, find information about physicians and medical centers performing clinical research, and learn about drug therapies newly approved by the Food and Drug Administration. You may also sign up for e-mail notification service, which will inform you of future postings in a particular therapeutic area.
DailyMed
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA approved labels (package inserts).
Drug Information Portal - U.S. National Library of Medicine
The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies.
Drug Information Resources: a guide for pharmacists
Dalhousie University College of Pharmacy
Reference resources particularly useful to pharmacists are organized under category headings in the table of contents below. These resources were selected by the authors or by pharmacists and/or health professionals who have expertise in specialty areas.
Electronic Orange Book
Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations
FDA Drug Information Pathfinder
Provides links to information on specific drugs, drug development, drug application process, drug imports, and other topics.
MedlinePlus
Drugs, supplements and herbal information. Bethesda: National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health, updated daily.
National Code Directory
A system that is designed to provide drugs in the United States with a specific 11-digit number that describes the product. Originally created under Medicare to help identify identify drugs for reimbursement, the usefulness of the system has now become more widespread.
Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA)
An industry trade group representing the pharmaceutical research and biotechnology companies in the United States. PhRMA's mission is advocacy for public policies that encourage the discovery of new medicines for patients by pharmaceutical and biotechnology research companies.
RxList
The Internet drug index
Search the RxList database for brand name, generic name and pharmacologic category. Many of the most popular entries have links to professional and/or patient oriented material.
TOP OF PAGE
Laws, Legislation, Regulations, and Ethics
Code of federal regulations.
Title 21: Food and drugs; Title 42: Public health.
Washington. DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, irregular. Updated in the Federal Register online.
Federal register
Washington, D.C.: Office of the Federal Register
National Archives and Records Administration, 1994. Free. URL:
Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
U.S. Food and Drug Administration.
National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC)
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
THOMAS
Legislative information on the Internet
Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress
TOP OF PAGE
Alternative Medicine
MedlinePlus
Complementary and Alternative Therapies topics
A service of the National Library of Medicine
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center (MSKCC) Integrative Medicine
This information resource provides evidence-based information about herbs, botanicals, supplements, and more.
NIH NCCAM
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
NCCAM is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM).
TOP OF PAGE
Substance Abuse
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAA)
NIAAA provides leadership in the national effort to reduce alcohol-related problems.
National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
NIDA's mission is to lead the Nation in bringing the power of science to bear on drug abuse and addiction.
SAMHSA's
National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information (NCADI)
The Agency has sharply focused its mission on building resilience and facilitating recovery for people with or at risk for mental or substance use disorders. SAMHSA is gearing all of its resources -- programs, policies and grants -- toward that outcome.
TOP OF PAGE
Clinical Sciences
HealthWeb
Committee on Institutional Cooperation, Greater Midwest Region of the National Network Libraries of Medicine, 1997-
Medscape
New York, NY: Medscape, 1996-
Therapeutics
ClinicalTrials.gov
National Library of Medicine, NLM, 2000.
Managed Care
Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy
AMCP’s vision is managed care pharmacy improving health care for all.
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
2nd ed. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 2005
Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
A leader in health policy and communications, the Kaiser Family Foundation is a non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S., with a growing role in global health.
TOP OF PAGE
Pharmaceutics
International Academy of Compounding Pharmacists. IACP.
Pharmaceutics laboratory course School of Pharmacy, UNC
Community Practice
NACDS/NCPA community pharmacy practice residency guidelines.
Hoey, B. Douglas and Jung, Sandra Kay, eds.
[National Assn.of Chain Drug Stores and National Community Pharmacists Ass.]
Nutrition and Nutraceuticals
FDA's Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition
This site offers information on foodborne illnesses from toxins, pathogens and other contaminants. It also contains reporting mechanisms for illnesses from products as well as warnings and safety information on dietary supplements, infant formulas, and medical foods.
International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS).
Office of Dietary Supplements, National Institutes of Health. updated quarterly.
TOP OF PAGE
Microbiology
Bacteriological analytical manual online.
Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition, U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 2001
Medicinal Chemistry
Basic concepts in medicinal chemistry
[tutorials]. Harrold, Marc W. School of Pharmacy, Duquesne, 2001.
Professional Practice
Martindale's the "Virtual" pharmacy, pharmacology & toxicology center
Jim Martindale
Industrial
Food and Drug Administration.
Current good manufacturing practice for finished pharmaceuticals. Washington, D.C.: GPO, 2003.
Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America.
PhRMA. Washington, D.C.: PhRMA.
Nuclear and Radio Pharmacology
World Health Organization
Expert Committee on Specifications for Pharmaceutical Preparations.
Specifications for pharmaceutical preparations. Geneva: WHO, 1992- . Free
TOP OF PAGE
Hawaiian Health Websites
Ke Ola Mamo Native Hawaiian Health
Ke Ola Mamo is committed to improving the life and health of our people through a system of culturally sensitive services, intervention, advocacy, outreach, education and early detection screenings.
Hawaiian Health Information Corporation
Hawai‘i source for health care data.
Hawaiian Pacific Basin Area Health Education Centers
The mission of the Hawai‘i AHEC is to improve the health of the underserved through education.
Native Hawaiian Health
The Native Hawaiian Health Website is dedicated to improving Native Hawaiian wellness by providing information on health and wellness for you, your family and your community.
Medline Plus - Asian Pacific Islanders
Papa Ola Lokahi
Papa Ola Lokahi supports the comprehensive development of a caring, competent, well-trained workforce that will serve to improve access to health care by Native Hawaiians and their families.
University of Hawai‘i Native Hawaiian Health Database
The database is a clearinghouse of information intended for researchers, physicians, students, and all those interested in learning more about the issues concerning the health of Native Hawaiians.
TOP OF PAGE
Pharmacognosy and Natural Products
Dietary supplements labels database: brands, ingredients and references.
U. S. National Library of Medicine, 2008. Based on Dietary Supplements On-Line Database (DSOL) ©2005-07 by DeLima Associates. Vol. 2008.
DrugDigest: herbs and supplements section. 2008. Experts and contributors are PharmDs. Express Scripts.
MedlinePlus: herbs and supplements. Information on herbs and supplements is from Natural Standard©. National Library of Medicine.
Office of Dietary Supplements. National Institutes of Health.
USP Verified. United States Pharmacopeia Convention
ASHP statements and guidelines
TOP OF PAGE |