Edwin H. Mookini Library

 

Starting Research / Research Guides / Writing Lab / Online Resources

On this page: Books / Dictionaries, Handbooks and Encyclopedias / Anthologies / Bibliographies / Biographical Information / Other Sources / Periodicals / Citing Sources / Loans from Other Libraries

Books

Most works of literature have call numbers beginning with "P." They are arranged geographically by the nationality of the writer and then by the type of the work. The major divisions are:

Material Type

Call Numbers

English Literature

PR

American Literature

PS

Oriental Literature (Japanese, Chinese, Korean, and Oceanic)

PL

In our library, most literary works are housed on the Lower Level. An important exception is fiction about Hawaii, which is shelved in the Hawaiian Collection on the Main Level.

Use the library's Voyager catalog to search for names, titles or keywords. Books about literature can be found using keyword searching by:

  • genre (poetry, fiction, etc.)
  • geographical area
  • ethnic group (such as "Chinese American")
  • gender (use the term "women authors")

Dictionaries, Handbooks, and Encyclopedias

Voices from the Gaps: Women Artists and Writers of Color

Bloom, Harold, ed. Asian-American Women Writers. Philadelphia: Chelsea House (1997).
Ref. PS 153 .A84 A83 1997 (a second copy circulates from the library's General Collection)

Contemporary American Ethnic Poets: Lives, Works, Sources. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2004.
Ref. PS 153 .M56 L56 2004

Fister, Barbara. Third World Women's Literature: A Dictionary and Guide to Materials in English. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1995.
Ref. PN849 .U43 1995

Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English. London, New York: Routledge, 1994.
Ref. PR9080 .A52 E53 1994

Identities and Issues in Literature. Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press, 1997.
Ref. PS153 .M56 I34 1997

Liu, Miles Xian, ed. Asian American Playwrights: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002.
Ref. PS 338 .A74 A9 2002

Multicultural Writers since 1945: An A-to-Z Guide. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2004.
Ref. PN 452 .M88 2004

Nelson, Emmanuel S., ed. Asian American Novelists: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2000.
Ref. PS 153 .A84 A825 2000

New Immigrant Literatures in the United States: A Sourcebook to Our Multicultural Literary Heritage. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1996.
Ref. PS153 .M56 N475 1996

Oxford Companion to Australian Literature. Melbourne, New York: Oxford University Press, 1994.
Ref. PR9600.2 .W55 1994

Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United States. New York: Oxford University Press, 1995.
Ref. PS147 .O94 1995

Wong, Sau-ling Cynthia and Stephen H. Sumida, eds. A Resource Guide to Asian American Literature. New York: Modern Language Association of America (2001)
Ref. PS 153 .A84 R47 2001

Anthologies

American Dragons: Twenty-five Asian American Voices. New York: HarperCollins, 1993.
READ PZ5 .A51144 1995

Asian-American Women Writers. Philadelphia: Chelsea House Publishers, 1997.
Ref. PS153 .A84 A83 1997

Balaz, Joseph P., ed. Hoomanoa: An Anthology of Contemporary Hawaiian Literature. Honolulu, HI: Ku Paa Inc., 1989.
Hawn PS571 .H3 H66 1989

The Big Aiiieeeee! : An Anthology of Chinese American and Japanese American Literature. New York: Meridan, 1991.
PS508 .A8 B54 1991

Bruchac, Joseph, ed. Breaking Silence: An Anthology of Contemporary Asian American Poets. 1st ed. Greenfield Center, NY: Greenfield Review Press, 1983.
PS591 .A8 B7 1983

Carroll, Dennis, ed. Kumu Kahua Plays. Honolulu, HI: University of Hawaii Press, 1983.
Hawn PS571 .H3 K85 1983

Chin, Frank, ed. Aiiieeeee! An Anthology of Asian-American Writers. Washington: Howard University Press, 1974.
PS508 A8 A4

Chock, Eric, et al, eds. Growing Up Local: An Anthology of Poetry and Prose from Hawaii. Honolulu, HI: Bamboo Ridge Press, 1998.
Hawn PS571 H3 G76 1998

Chock, Eric, et al., eds. Talk Story: An Anthology of Hawaii's Local Writers. Honolulu: Petronium Press, Talk Story Inc., 1978.
Hawn PS571 .H3 T2

Chock, Eric and Darrell H. Y. Lum, eds. The Best of Bamboo Ridge; the Hawaii Writer's Quarterly. Honolulu, HI: Bamboo Ridge Press, 1986.
Hawn PS571 .H3 B47 1986

Chock, Eric and Darrell H. Y. Lum, eds. Pake: Writings by Chinese in Hawaii. Honolulu: Bamboo Ridge, 1989.
Hawn PS571.H3 P35 1989  

Growing Up Asian American: An Anthology. New York: W. Morrow, 1993.
PS508 .A8 G76 1993

Hall, Dana Naone, ed. Malama: Hawaiian Land and Water (Bamboo Ridge issue #29). Honolulu, HI: Bamboo Ridge Press, 1985.
Hawn PS571 .H3 .M34

Hara, Marie and Nora Okja Keller, eds. Intersecting Circles: The Voices of Hapa Women in Poetry and Prose. Honolulu, HI: Bamboo Ridge Press, 1999. 
Hawn PS 571 .H3 B35 no. 76.

Harris, Catherine E. and Barbara Robinson, eds. Sandwich Isles U.S.A., a Collection : Fifty Views of Hawaii by Forty-five Authors and Four Artists. Honolulu: Menehune, 1973.
Hawn DU620.3 .H34 

Harstad, Cheryl A. and James R. Harstad, eds. Island Fire: an Anthology of Literature From Hawai'i. Honolulu, HI: UH Press, 2002.
Hawn PS571 H3 I85 2002

Hiura, Arnold, et al., eds. Talk Story: Big Island Anthology. Honolulu, HI: Bamboo Ridge Press, 1979.
Hawn PS571.H3 T355 1979

Hsu, Kai-yu and Helen Palubinskas, eds. Asian-American Authors. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1976.
PS508 .O7 .H8 1976

Kono, Juliet and Cathy Song. Sister Stew: Fiction and Poetry by Women. Honolulu, HI: Bamboo Ridge Press, 1991.
Hawn PS571 .H3 .B4 1991

Lim, Shirley, Mayumi Tsutakawa and Margarita Donnelly, eds. Forbidden Stitch: An Asian American Women's Anthology. Corvallis, OR: Calyx Books, 1989.
PS153 .A84 F66 1988

Lum, Darrell H. Y., et al., eds. The Quietest Singing. Honolulu, HI: University of Hawaii Press, 2000.
Hawn PS571.H3 Q82 2000

The Politics of Life: Four Plays. Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 1993.
PS628 .A85 P65 1993

7 Tutuila Writers. Pago Pago, American Samoa: O Le Si`uleo o Samoa, 1987.

Stewart, Frank, ed. Passages to the Dream Shore: Short Stories of Contemporary Hawaii. Honolulu, HI: University of Hawaii Press, 1987.
Hawn PS571 .H3 P37 1987

Stewart, Frank and John Unterecker. Poetry Hawaii: AContemporary Anthology. Honolulu, HI: University of Hawaii Press, 1979.
Haw. Gfl. PS571 H3 P6

Watanabe, Sylvia and Carol Bruchac. Home to Stay: Asian American Women's Fiction. 1st ed. Greenfield Center, NY: Greenfield Review Press, 1990.
PS647 .A75 H58 1990

Bibliographies

Cheung, Kink-kok and Yogi, Stan. Asian American Literature: An Annotated Bibliography. New York: MLA, 1988.
Ref. PS153 .A84 C43 1988

Hiura, Arnold T. and Stephen H. Sumida. Asian American Literature of Hawaii: An Annotated Bibliography. Honolulu: Hawaii Ethnic Resource Center, Talk Story, 1979.
Hawn Z1361 O7 H58

Peck, David R. American Ethnic Literatures: Native American, African American, Chicano/Latino, and Asian American Writers and Their Backgrounds: An Annotated Bibliography. Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press, 1992.
Ref. PS153 .M56 1992

Valeros, Florentino and Estrellita Valeros-Gruenber. Filipino Writers in English: A Biographical and Bibliographical Directory . Quezon City, Philippines: New Day Publishers, 1987.
Ref. PR9550 .A52 V35 1987

Biographical Information

Notable Asian Americans. New York: Gale Research Co., 1995.
Ref. E184 .O6 N67 1995

Biography Research Center Databases available through the Hawaii State Public Library System (HSPLS) include the Library Resource Center and Biography Research Center. You must have your HSPLS library card to log in.

Usually anthologies will include limited biographical information about the writers; you may need to write to the writer or her publisher.

Other Sources

Alley, Elizabeth and Mark Williams. In the Same Room: Conversations with New Zealand Writers. Auckland, N.Z.: Auckland University Press, 1992.
PR9629.6 .zI5 1992

Cheung, Kiing-kok. Articulate Silences: Hisaye Yamamoto, Maxine Hong Kingston, Joy Kagawa. Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 1993.
PS153 .A84 C48 1993

Hamasaki, Richard. Singing in Their Genealogical Trees: The Emergence of Contemporary Hawaiian Poetry in English. Pacific Islands Studies no. 2014. Theses for the degree of Master of Arts, University of Hawaii at Manoa, 1989.
Hawn CB5 .H3 no. 2014

Lee, Juliet S.K. Critical Research Guide to Contemporary Asian American Writers. Paper prepared for English 630, University of Hawaii at Manoa, 1989.
Hawn PS153 .A84 L44 1989

Reading the Literatures of Asian America. Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 1992.
PS153.A84 R43 1992

Sumida, Stephen H. And the View From the Shore: Literary Traditions of Hawaii. Seattle: University of Washington Press, 1991.
Hawn PS283 .H3 S86 1991

Sumida, Stephen Hiro, "Our Whole Voice: the Pastoral and the Heroic in Hawaii's Literature," Ph.D. diss., University of Washington, 1982.
Hawn. PS283 .H3 S86 1982A

Trudeau, Lawrence J., ed. Asian American Literature: Reviews and Criticism of Works by American Writers of Asian Descent. Detroit: Gale, 1999
Ref. PS153 .A84A82 1999

Wong, Sau-ling. Reading Asian American Literature: From Necessity to Extravagance. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1993.
PS153 .A84 W66 1993

Periodicals

Some journals and newspapers which publish primary works of the region are:

  • Bamboo Ridge: the Hawaii Writer's Quarterly. Hawn PN2 .B17
  • Chaminade Literary Review. Hawn PS1 .C
  • Crosscurrent (formerly Pacific Quarterly Moana ). Periodicals.
  • Hawaii Herald. Hawaiian Collection Desk
  • Hawaii Review. Hawn PS571 .H3 H38
  • Kaimana. Hawn PN22 .H39
  • Mana. Periodicals.
  • Manoa: A Pacific Journal of International Writing.  Periodicals.
  • Oiwi: A Native Hawaiian Journal. Hawn PS508.H39 O39
  • Ramrod. Hawn PS571 .H3 R35
  • Seaweeds and Constructions: Honolulu's Art and Literary Magazine. Hawn PS1 .S43 (1976-1979)
  • T atou tusi tala=Let's write stories: an anthology of Samoan writings. Hawn PS574.H441T38

Finding Periodical Articles

The library subscribes to about 1,100 periodicals in print format, and we have access to another 24,000 online journals. Use the "Find Periodicals" box located on the library's homepage to locate journals we have either in print or electronically.

Current issues of print periodicals are displayed on the Main Level behind the Reference area, arranged in broad subject areas. Most of our periodical backfiles are on the Upper Level, shelved alphabetically by title.

To find articles in periodicals on a specific topic, you need to use a periodical index. For research on literature, the best index we have is:

Academic Periodical Search Provides many articles in full text. When full-text is not available, abstracts are usually provided.

Other indexes to try:

Generally information can be located by searching under the name of the writer. Indexes to short stories, plays, and poetry in collections are also available to help locate specific titles.

For articles in journals that we don't have, see "Loans from Other Libraries" below.

Citing Sources

MLA handbook for writers of research papers. 2003. This is a detailed reference book describing all of the MLA's requirements with respect to general format and citations.
Ref LB2369 .G53 2003. Another non-circulating copy at the Reference Desk; circulating copies in the general collection.

How to Cite Sources This UH Hilo Library page has links to web resources on citations. Make sure to check out "Research and Documentation Online" by Diana Hacker, which tells you how to cite most formats in MLA style.

Check out the "Citation Machine" within LILO, the UH Libraries' web-based research tutorial. Login, click on My LILO Tools, click on Citation Machine, click on MLA, and let the power of the web format your citations.

Loans from Other Libraries

Books may be borrowed from other libraries in the UH System. Click here for more information.

Students may obtain copies of articles from journals to which the library does not subscribe through our intrasystem loan service.

Fees may apply.