Library Resources on Nutrition

SCOPE

The study of human nutrition is interdisciplinary in character, involving physiology, biochemistry, molecular biology and also includes fields such as psychology and anthropology, which explore the influence of attitudes, beliefs, preferences, and cultural traditions on food choices. Human nutrition further touches on economics and political science as the world community recognizes and responds to the suffering and death caused by malnutrition. The ultimate goal of nutritional science is to promote optimal health and reduce the risk of chronic diseases such as cardiovascular disease and cancer as well as to prevent classic nutritional deficiency diseases such as kwashiorkor and pellagra. (Encyclopaedia Britannica Online)

The strongest evidence of the importance of nutrition for human health comes from the fact that almost 60% of the diseases that kill humans are related to diet and lifestyle (including smoking and physical activity).
(Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition V.1 Introduction 2005)

 

TOP OF PAGE

 

INTRODUCTIONS TO HUMAN NUTRITION

Modern Nutrition in Health and Disease. Senior editor, Maurice E. Shils; associate editors, Moshe Shike ... [et al.]. (10th ed.) Publisher: Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, c2006.
General Folio QP141 .M64 2006

Williams, Sue Rodwell, Eleanor D. Schlenker. Essentials of nutrition and diet therapy. (8th ed.) St. Louis, Mo.: Mosby, c2003.
General Collection RM216 .W683 2003

Carroll A. Lutz, Karen Rutherford Przytulski. Nutrition and diet therapy. (3rd ed.) Publisher: Philadelphia, PA: F.A. Davis Co., c2001.
General Collection RM217 .L88 2001

Hark, Lisa and Darwin, D. Nutrition for life. Publisher: London: Dorling Kindersley, 2005.
General Collection RA784 .H367 2005

 

TOP OF PAGE

 

SUBJECT SEARCHING IN THE VOYAGER CATALOG

Books and media on all subjects are indexed in UH Hilo’s Voyager catalog.

A click on the links below will perform the search in UH Hilo’s catalog. Subject headings used by the library, under which books on nutrition can be located in most card, book, and online catalogs, include the following:

The term nutrition will retrieve books and media on nutrition in general as well as more specific aspects of the subject.

The following terms also bring up many titles related to nutrition:

diet


diet therapy


dietetics


dietary supplements


food


food allergy


food biotechnology


food composition


food contamination


food labeling


food law and legislation


food safety measures


food standards


minerals in nutrition


nutrition in children


nutrition and aging


nutrition disorders


nutrients


radiation and food


vitamins in nutrition

Use Hawai’i Voyager (the library’s online catalog) to search for books in the library collection. From the library's homepage, use the UH - Hilo Basic Search or the UH Hilo - Advanced Search to search by Author, Subject, Title, or Keyword. You can also Search all UH System Libraries and request items from other libraries

Finding Nutrition Books to Check Out

Books related to nutrition may be found in a number of areas within the library, which uses the Library of Congress call number scheme to put its books in order by subject.

Call Numbers Subject Area Location in Library
RA Public Aspect of Medicine Lower Level
RA 773-788 Personal Health and Hygiene Lower Level
RM 214-258 Diet Therapy, Dietary Cookbooks Lower Level
RM 259 Vitamin Therapy Lower Level

TOP OF PAGE

 

ELECTRONIC BOOKS

The library has recently acquired electronic books to supplement its printed collection. These are especially useful for students who are not on campus. EBooks are accessed from the library homepage. Under the column entitled “Quick Links,” click on “eBooks.”

NetLibrary contains books on all subjects and includes some titles on nutrition and health. Some of these are cataloged in Voyager, but most must be accessed from the netLibrary website.

TOP OF PAGE

 

FINDING BOOKS IN MAINLAND LIBRARIES

WorldCat lists books, audiovisual materials, and other items held by some 18,000 libraries worldwide. Its 1.3 billion items may be searched by author, keyword, title, and ISBN.

Once you have found a title you're interested in, you need to check our library's Voyager catalog to see if we have the book.

If you’re interested in a title that is not held by UH Hilo or any other library in the UH system, you may ask us to try to obtain it via interlibrary loan. Please be aware that it can take from three to five weeks for such books to arrive here. For more information and instructions on requesting material from other libraries, please click here.

TOP OF PAGE

 

REFERENCE BOOKS

Duyff, Roberta Larson. The American Dietetic Association complete food and nutrition guide [electronic resource] Edition: 2nd ed. Publisher: New York: John Wiley & Sons, c2002.
Web Site/Electronic Resource

Bowes, Anna De Planter. Bowes and Church's food values of portions commonly used. 16th ed. / revised by Jean A.T. Pennington. Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott, c1994.
Reference CollectionTX551 .B64 1994.

Garrison, Robert H. The nutrition desk reference. New Canaan, Conn.: Keats Pub., c1995.
Reference Collection QP141 .G33 1995.

Berdanier, Carolyn D. CRC desk reference for nutrition. Boca Raton, Fla.: CRC Press, c1998.
Reference Collection QP141 .B523 1998.

US FDA/CFSAN Bad Bug Book: Foodborne pathogenic microorganisms and natural toxins handbook. The Bad Book is a component of the FDA's Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition Web site.
Electronic Resource

TOP OF PAGE

 

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

MedlinePlus Medical Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition. Editor-in-chief, Benjamin Caballero; editors, Lindsay Allen, Andrew Prentice. Publisher: Amsterdam; Boston: Elsevier/Academic Press, 2005.
Reference Collection QP141 .E526 2005

The Oxford encyclopedia of food and drink in America. Editor-in-chief, Andrew F. Smith. New York: Oxford University Press, 2004.
Reference Collection TX349 .E45 2004

 

TOP OF PAGE

 

DICTIONARIES

MedlinePlus Medical Dictionary

Kenneth N. Anderson and Lois E. Anderson. International Dictionary of Food and Nutrition. New York: Wiley.
Reference Collection TX349 .A236 1993

TOP OF PAGE

 

DISSERTATIONS

The library has access to the full text of North American theses and dissertations completed since 1997 in Digital Dissertations. Some examples of material available in full text on that site:

Wiley, Sarah Breen, MS. A nutrition needs assessment: The dietary practices, nutrition knowledge, and perceived body image of collegiate female athletes and non-athletes.
(Doctoral dissertation, Mississippi State University, 2003).

Bovill, Maria Escalante, DrPH (2005). The study of chronic disease risk factors of children living in American Samoa: A comparison to the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) 1999--2002 University of California, Berkley.

 

TOP OF PAGE

 

JOURNALS

In order to find articles in periodicals on a specific topic, use one or more of the library's periodical indexes. Online indexes of most value in nutrition are:

Academic Periodical Search
Search Academic Search Premier, Health Source, MEDLINE, CAB Abstracts and Biological Abstracts Collection simultaneously. These databases provide many articles in full text. If the full text is not available, abstracts are usually provided. These indexes are excellent to start with, but you may also need to use other indexes to make sure your search has covered all relevant journals.

ScienceDirect 1995-present. A full-text database covering over 1,000 academic journals in the sciences and social sciences.

LexisNexis Academic Provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications.

ERIC 1966- present. The leading index in the field of Education provides 700,000+ citations to journal articles and reports.

Finding Articles in Print and Online

The vast majority of journals we have available are now online. In order to find out if we have access to a journal, either in print format or online, use the “Find Periodicals” box on the library’s homepage. Type in the title of the journal (not the title of the article within the journal).

If we have it online, a link will be provided to the journal's homepage, from which you may find the specific issue and article you’re looking for. If we have the journal in print format, the system will take you to the Voyager catalog record for the journal. It will tell you what years we have, and most likely will tell you we keep the journal in the Periodical Backfile Collection on the Upper Level of the Library.

Browsing the Journals We Have Available in Nutrition

If you would like to see what nutrition journals we have access to, use the "Browse by Subject" box on the library’s homepage and choose "Health and Biological Sciences".

Obtaining Articles from Journals the Library Does Not Have

Students may often obtain articles from journals to which the library does not subscribe. Through a process called “intrasystem loan,” this library requests articles from another library in the UH system. There is a $1.00 charge for the photocopy.

If no library in the UH system subscribes to a journal, it may still be possible for us to obtain the article, this time through “interlibrary loan.” For this service, we request items from libraries outside the UH system. Students may request ILL for a cost of $3.00 per article. It may take from three to five weeks to receive the article.

Click here for additional information and forms for both intrasystem and interlibrary loans.

TOP OF PAGE

 

ANNUAL REVIEWS

Each year, Annual Reviews, a nonprofit organization, publishes compilations of articles spanning a wide variety of topics for about 30 different disciplines. The authors are invited to contribute, and they each have the expertise to deliver a detailed, authoritative assessment of the state of theory and research of the topic under review.

Annual Review Nutrition

From 08/01/1997 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Premier and Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

From 07/01/2001 to present in Annual Reviews

Nutrition Reviews

From 01/01/2002 to present in Alt-HealthWatch, Academic Search Premier, Health Source: Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition and MasterFILE Premier

 

TOP OF PAGE

 

DOCUMENTATION MANUALS

American Psychological Association. (2001). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (5th ed.) Washington, DC: Author. Comprehensive instructions on citation formats. (Less complete information is also on the Web at the APA’s guide to citing electronic resources.)
CLOSED BF76.7 .P83 2001

Style manuals linked under Writing Tools from the library’s website summarize the APA’s guidelines for documenting sources. These will provide sufficient guidance in many situations, but the printed Publication Manual listed above is the final word.

TOP OF PAGE

 

 

ADDITIONAL INTERNET RESOURCES

American Dietetic Association (ADA)
The ADA is the largest group of food and nutrition professionals in the United States. This site is a good source for nutrition information.

Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition
CFSAN, a center within the Food and Drug Administration, is "responsible for promoting and protecting the public's health by ensuring that the nation's food supply is safe, sanitary, wholesome, and honestly labeled."

FoodSafety.gov
Gateway website that provides links to selected government food safety-related information. Maintained by the FDA’s Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition.

Food Science Central
Information packed site from International Food Information Service (IFIS), which also produces Food Science & Technology Abstracts (FSTA).

Center for Science in the Public Interest (CSPI)
CPSI is a nonprofit organization that "focuses on improving the safety and nutritional quality of the food supply."

Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) United Nations.
FAO is an intergovernmental agency with 183 member countries. It has lead responsibility within the United Nations for agriculture, forestry, fisheries and rural development. It is concerned with increasing food production and food security and the improvement of nutrition. FAO hosts the Codex Alimentarius web site. The Codex is the main international system for developing and promulgating food standards.

Food and Drug Administration (FDA) U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Regulates food products and dietary supplements.

Food and Nutrition Information Center National Agricultural Library.
Includes links to food guide pyramids, Dietary Guidelines For Americans, 2000, food composition data, information about dietary supplements, and other resources.

Food Safety and Inspection Service USDA.
Regulates meat, poultry and eggs products. Hosts the U.S Codex web site.

Food Safety Research Information Office National Agricultural Library.
Provides information on food safety research projects.

International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) Database. National Institute's of Health Office of Dietary Supplements.
"A database of published, international, scientific literature on dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, and botanicals."

International Food Policy Research Institute
The mission of IFPRI is to "identify and analyze policies for sustainably meeting the food needs of the developing world". Links to events, research, publications, information about datasets, and web resources. Latest publication Food Safety in Food Security and Food Trade.

Martindale's Health Science Guide: The "Virtual" Nutrition Center
A directory of nutrition information. Provides access to literature and patent searches, dictionaries and glossaries, and online nutrition calculators. Contains information on food science, labeling, and food safety.

Nutrient Data Laboratory Home Page
U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service. Source of food composition data. Includes the USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference, Release 15 and data sets for flavonoids, isoflavones, carotenoids, sugar, vitamin K, and more.

Nutrition.gov
Portal to nutrition information across the agencies of the Federal Government.

Feeding America
Michigan State University Library is known for its collection of more than 7,000 historical cookbooks. Now with feeding America, the library makes part of the collection highly accessible in a digitized, searchable format.

MedlinePlus
Consumer health information.

 

TOP OF PAGE

NURSING ORGANIZATIONS

American Dietetic Association

American Society for Nutrition

International Food and Information Council (IFIC)

TOP OF PAGE

 

Hawaii Food Nutrition with Aloha
From the Cancer Research Center of Hawaii

General and reliable food and nutrient information is provided on this website to help you make healthier choices. The website is not intended to meet the specific needs of people with special diet requirements, who should consult with a credentialed nutrition expert and/or licensed healthcare professional.