Library Resources on Nursing
| ||||||||||||
SCOPE
|
| Call Numbers | Subject Area | Location in Library |
| RT 1-120 | Nursing | Lower Level |
| RT 89-120 | Specialities in Nursing | Lower Level |
| R | Medicine | Lower Level |
The library has recently acquired electronic books to supplement its printed collection. These are especially useful for students who are not on campus. EBooks are accessed from the library homepage. Under the column entitled “Quick Links,” click on “eBooks.”
StatRef! A cross-searchable, full-text health information resource that includes calculation tools, a medical dictionary, patient information and core titles in General Medicine.
NetLibrary contains books on all subjects and includes some titles on nursing. Some of these are cataloged in Voyager, but most must be accessed from the netLibrary website.
The OnlineBooks page has thousands of freely available eBooks. Search for nursing as a subject.
WorldCat lists books, audiovisual materials, and other items held by some 18,000 libraries worldwide. Its 1.3 billion items may be searched by author, keyword, title, and ISBN.
Once you have found a title you're interested in, you need to check our library's Voyager catalog to see if we have the book.
If you’re interested in a title that is not held by UH Hilo or any other library in the UH system, you may ask us to try to obtain it via interlibrary loan. Please be aware that it can take from three to five weeks for such books to arrive here. For more information and instructions on requesting material from other libraries, please click here.
Practical ethics for nurses and nursing students : a short reference manual.
Kathryn Schroeter, et al. Hagerstown, MD : University Pub. Group, c2002.
General Collection RT85 .P72 2002
Mosby’s pediatric nursing reference. Cecily Lynn Betz, Linda A. Sowden.
Reference RJ245 .M67 2000
Procedures for nurse practitioners. Springhouse, Pa.: Springhouse, c2001.
Reference RT82.8 .P757 2001.
Intravenous medications : a handbook for nurses and allied health professionals.
Betty L. Gahart, Adrienne R. Nazareno. 16th ed. St Louis : Mosby, c2000.
Reference RM170 .G33 2000.
Mosby’s handbook of diseases. Rae W. Langford, June D. Thompson.
St. Louis : Mosby, c2000.
Reference
RT65 .L37 2000.
The Merck manual of health & aging / Mark H. Beers, editor-in-chief ; Thomas V. Jones, editor ; Michael Berkwits, Justin L. Kaplan, and Robert Porter, assistant editors. Whitehouse Station, NJ : Merck Research Laboratories, 2004.
Reference
RA777.5 .M47 2004
Net Library E-book E-Resource
Search Clinicians Pocket Reference
E-Book Net Library
Search Uncommon Problems in Intensive Care, By Cade, J. F.
MedlinePlus Medical Encyclopedia
The Gale encyclopedia of nursing & allied health / Kristine Krapp, editor.
Reference RT21 .G353 2002
The encyclopedia of elder care : the comprehensive resource on geriatric and social care / Mathy D. Mezey, editor-in-chief ; Barbara J. Berkman ... [et al.], associate editors ; Melissa M. Bottrell, managing editor. New York : Springer Pub., c2001.
Reference
RC954 .E53 2001
Historical encyclopedia of nursing / Mary Ellen Snodgrass. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1999.
General Collection RT31 .S66 1999
MedlinePlus Medical Dictionary
Dictionary of medical acronyms & abbreviations / compiled and edited by Stanley Jablonski. 5th ed. Philadelphia, PA : Saunders, 2005.
Reference R123 .J24 2005
Melloni’s illustrated medical dictionary. 4th ed. New York : Parthenon, c2002.
Reference R121 .D76 2002.
Mosby’s medical, nursing, & allied health dictionary. 5th ed. / revision editor, Kenneth N. Anderson ; consulting editor and writer, Lois E. Anderson ; consulting and pronunciation editor, Walter D. Glanze. St. Louis : Mosby, c1998.
General Collection R121 .M89 1998
Nana I Ke Kumu ("Look to the Source") V.1 & v.2
Nana I Ke Kumu ("Look to the Source") is dedicated to the families and children of Hawaii. It is our hope that the cultural knowledge embodied in this book works will provide bridges to an understanding of Hawaiian ancestors viewed from the present complex system of thinking, feeling and doing.
Hawaiian Collection Call Number: DU624.5 .P85
Ho'oponopono ("to make right")
This book is about a universal "conflict resolution/healing" method from Hawaii. The book provides a systematic overview of this system with many practical examples. It should be of interest to health providers, anthropologists, sociologists, etc.
Hawaiian Collection Call Number: HV98.H3 S477 1985
People and Cultures of Hawaii: A Psychocultural Profile
Chapters on the Hawaiians, the Caucasians, the Chinese, the Japanese, the Portuguese, the Okinawans, the Koreans, the Filipinos, the Samoans and the people of Indochina discuss the history of the arrivals of the different people in the islands, value systems, stereotypes, contemporary situations, etc. The book is geared towards use in the mental health care field, but will appeal to a far greater audience. This is a must-read for anyone curious about the histories of different cultural groups in Hawai'i, or with an interest in racial relations in the United States.
Hawaiian Collection Call Number: BF698.9.C8 P48 1980
A Perspective on Hawaiians. Hawai'i Community Foundation Diversity Project, 1995. By Takenaka C.
Hawaiian Collection Call Number: DU624.65 .T37 1995
The library has access to the full text of North American theses and dissertations completed since 1997 in Digital Dissertations. Some examples of material available in full text on that site:
Idczak, Sue Easter, PhD. (2005). Nursing students' experiences of being and presence: A hermeneutic approach. (Doctoral Dissertation, University of Toledo, 2005).
Mooney, Sharon Fish, PhD. (2005). A historical and sociological analysis of the controversy surrounding therapeutic touch in nursing. (Doctoral Dissertation, University of Rochester School of Nursing, 2005).
Links to websites, tutorials, systematic reviews, and more.
Current issues of print periodicals are displayed on the Main Level behind the Reference area, arranged in broad subject areas. Most of our periodical backfiles are on the Upper Level, shelved alphabetically by title.
In order to find articles in periodicals on a specific topic, use one or more of the library's periodical indexes. Online indexes of most value in nursing are:
CINAHL [Current Indexing to Nursing and Allied Health Literature] via EBSCOhost (with full-text links) is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators, and researchers. This database provides indexing and abstracts for over 1,700 current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982, totaling over 920,000 records.
PubMed / MEDLINE, available via the NCBI Entrez retrieval system, was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH). Entrez is the text-based search and retrieval system used at NCBI for services including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, OMIM, and many others. PubMed provides access to citations from biomedical literature. LinkOut provides access to full-text articles at our library web site, journal Web sites, and other related Web resources. PubMed also provides access and links to the other Entrez molecular biology resources.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 540 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Health Source: Consumer Edition provides full text for over 190 journals on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.
Alt HealthWatch - This alternative health database provides full text for 180 publications in the collection, including full text for many peer-reviewed journals. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990.
Science Direct - Electronic journals published by Elsevier and Academic Press back to 1995. Covers all sciences, arts and humanities, business and economics, environment and energy, medicine and pharmacology, psychology and other social sciences.
SpringerLink - Over 350 electronic journals published by Springer and an additional 650 published by Kluwer. Access to articles published after 1996.
Blackwell Synergy - Approximately 375 peer-reviewed journals in full text. The titles marked with a green spot are the science journals available to our library.
Wiley InterScience - Almost 400 electronic journals in the sciences and social sciences back to 1997 (where available).
Psychological Abstracts (PsycINFO) - Leading abstracting index in the field of psychology covering approximately 800 journals (some fully and others selectively), monographs, proceedings, theses, and government reports.
Finding Articles in Print and Online
The vast majority of journals we have available are now online. In order to find out if we have access to a journal, either in print format or online, use the “Find Periodicals” box on the library’s homepage. Type in the title of the journal (not the title of the article within the journal).
If we have it online, a link will be provided to the journals homepage, from which you may find the specific issue and article you’re looking for. If we have the journal in print format, the system will take you to the Voyager catalog record for the journal. It will tell you what years we have, and most likely will tell you we keep the journal in the Periodical Backfile Collection on the Upper Level of the Library.
Browsing the Journals We Have Available in Nursing
If you would like to see what nursing journals we have access to, you may do so from the “Find Articles” page of the library’s website.
Obtaining Articles from Journals the Library Does Not Have
Students may often obtain articles from journals to which the library does not subscribe. Through a process called “intrasystem loan,” this library requests articles from another library in the UH system. There is a $1.00 charge for the photocopy.
If no library in the UH system subscribes to a journal, it may still be possible for us to obtain the article, this time through “interlibrary loan.” For this service, we request items from libraries outside the UH system. Students may request ILL for a cost of $3.00 per article. It may take from three to five weeks to receive the article.
Click here for additional information and forms for both intrasystem and interlibrary loans.
National Center for Health Statistics
World Health Organization Statistical Information System
Prescriber's Letter "Unbiased Evidence and Advice You Can Trust on New Developments in Drug Therapy" (Licensed for UHH Nursing students only)
Medline Plus Drugs, Supplements, and Herbal Information
Merck Manual Home Edition Online/Drugs
Martindale’s Pharmacy & Toxicology Center
Lexi-Comp ONLINE is an Internet-based application providing real-time access to the most current and accurate point-of-care information available. The user-friendly layout provides quick access to every Lexi-Comp clinical databases and application. Lexi Drugs, Lexi-Comp’s most comprehensive drug database, covers every patient population as well as the following clinical specialties: Pharmacy, Nursing, Cardiology, Oncology, Psychiatry, Anesthesiology, and Dentistry.
Information technology & FDA compliance in the pharmaceutical industry available through NetLibrary
Drug information handbook. Charles F. Lacy. 13th ed., 2005-2006.
Reference RM301.12 .D78 2005/2006
Catalog of teratogenic agents. Thomas H. Shepard and Ronald J. Lemire.11th ed. Publishers description Hilo
Reference QM691 .S53 2004
Defining drugs: how government became the arbiter of pharmaceutical fact. Richard Henry Parrish II. New Brunswick, N.J. ; London : Transaction Publishers, c2003. Net Library
Guide to tests and Measurement Instruments (Taubman Medical Library)
Merck Manual Home Edition Common Medical Tests
Mosby’s diagnostic and laboratory test reference. Kathleen Deska Pagana, Timothy James Pagana. 4th ed. St. Louis : Mosby, c1999.
Reference RB38.2 .P337 1999.
Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders : DSM-IV-TR. Washington, DC : American Psychiatric Association, c2000.
CLOSED RC455.2.C4 D536 2003
George Mason’s Guide to Writing Resources for Nurses
Directories provide organized access, generally by subject, to a particular set of Internet resources:
Hardin MD Hardin MD was first launched in 1996, as a source to find the best lists, or directories, of information in health and medicine. Hence, the name Hardin MD comes from Hardin Meta Directory, since the site was conceived as a "directory of directories."
Nursing-HealthWeb directory, maintained by staff of Taubman Medical Library, is a large selective directory of nursing Internet sites.
HealthWeb includes over 70 areas of health sciences.
Evaluating Health Information on the Internet - Compiled resources from the National Institute of Health
Nursing on the Net - National Network of Libraries of Medicine NN/LM Health Care Resources for Nurses.
Martindale’s The Virtual Nursing Center - Links to dictionaries, glossaries, courses and tutorials, clinical and physical exams, protocols and procedures, case studies; interactive cases, national boards and review questions, classification of diseases, Laboratory Diagnostics & Handbooks, etc.
Mayo Clinic - A team of Web-publishing professionals and medical experts work side by side to produce this site. Through this unique collaboration, we give you access to the experience and knowledge of the more than 2,000 physicians and scientists of Mayo Clinic.
Nursing Theory Page - The Nursing Theory Page is a collaborative effort by an international group. We are interested in developing a collection of resources about nursing theories throughout the world. The project began on 21 May 96 and will always be a work in progress. The Nursing Theory Page simply links pages built and maintained by others who have knowledge about a theory.
MedWeb (Emory University) - MedWeb is a catalog of biomedical and health related web sites maintained by the staff of the Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center Library at Emory University. MedWeb's primary audience is the academic and research community at Emory. We are emphasizing Emory's educational and research programs as well as developing a carefully selected collection of sites of interest to the general public.
NIH A Web Sampler of Resources for Nursing Professionals - The mission of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NN/LM) is to advance the progress of medicine and improve the public health by: 1) providing all U.S. health professionals with equal access to biomedical information; and, 2) improving the public's access to information to enable them to make informed decisions about their health. The Program is coordinated by the National Library of Medicine and carried out through a nationwide network of health science libraries and information centers.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality - The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans. As one of 12 agencies within the Department of Health and Human Services, AHRQ supports health services research that will improve the quality of health care and promote evidence-based decisionmaking.
Center for Disease Control and Prevention - CDC is committed to achieving true improvements in people’s health. This link provides reliable information on health topics from A-Z.
National Institute of Nursing Research - Their mission is to promote and improve the health of individuals, families, communities, and populations. The mission is accomplished through support of research on science areas such as chronic and acute diseases, health promotion and maintenance, symptom management, health disparities, caregiving, self-management, and the end of life.
Cultural Diversity in Nursing - A humanistic and scientific area of formal study and practice in nursing which is focused upon differences and similarities among cultures with respect to human care, health, and illness based upon the people's cultural values, beliefs, and practices, and to use this knowledge to provide cultural specific or culturally congruent nursing care to people.
Medline Plus Medical Information - MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.
Medscape - Medscape offers specialists, primary care physicians, and other health professionals the Web's most robust and integrated medical information and educational tools.
Womenshealth.gov - As a Federal clearinghouse, NWHIC provides over 1,800 organization and 4,300 publication resources relating to women's health. Included is information on all major health concerns for women, prevention information for women, frequently asked questions about women's health, the latest news and calendar events pertaining to women's health and a "What about Men's Health?" section too! Information about the Office on Women's Health and its programs, and initiatives are accessible through the NWHIC web site as well.
National Center for Complementary & Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) - The "Health Information" section of this site contains the following links: Understanding Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM), Alerts and Advisories, Treatment Information, and More Resources.
National Cancer Institute: Thinking about Complementary and Alternative Medicine
MedlinePlus: Alternative Medicine
MedlinePlus: Complementary and Alternative Therapies Topics
National Student Nurses Organization
American Association Colleges of Nursing
American Holistic Nursing Association
American Nursing Informatics Association
American Association Critical Care Nurses
Google Directory Nursing Organizations
Primary Care Internet Guide: Nursing