Edwin H. Mookini Library

 

Starting Research / Research Guides / Writing Lab / Online Resources

BOOKS

Hawai’i Voyager is the online catalog for finding books in UH system libraries. On the Library’s home page, select “UH Hilo - Basic Search” or "UH Hilo - Advanced Search" to search for books in this library’s collection.

The Library of Congress classification for mathematics is QA. Reference books are located in the reference section on the Main Level.  Mathematics books that can be borrowed are found on the Lower Level.

The library also subscribes to several collections of e-books.

Reference Books:
Some useful mathematics reference books:

Companion Encyclopedia of the History and Philosophy of the Mathematical Sciences
Ref. QA 21 .C645 1994

CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae, 30th ed.
Ref. QA 47 .M315 1996

Dictionary of Mathematics
Ref. QA 5 .D4988 1999

Encyclopedia of Mathematics
Ref. QA 5 .T34 2005

Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education
Ref. QA 11 .E665 2001

Mathematics Dictionary with Solutions                   
Ref. QA 5 .K692 1999

Notable Mathematicians
Ref. QA 28 .N66 1998

 

JOURNAL ARTICLES

To find articles in periodicals on a specific topic, you need to use a periodical index.

Academic Search Premier covers a variety of academic subjects, including mathematics, and has many full-text articles.

JSTOR provides access to more than 240 journals, including more than 25 in mathematics, including American Journal of Mathematics, Annals of Mathematics, Journal of Symbol Logic, and Transactions of the American Mathematical Society.

ScienceDirect provides access to 1,600 journals from Elsevier Science. Mathematics titles include Advances in Mathematics, Historia Mathematica, Journal of Algorithms,and Journal of Differential Equations.

SpringerLink provides access to over 1,000 journals.  Mathematics titles include Acta Mathematica Sinica, Archive for Mathematical Logic, Combinatorica, and Japanese Journal of Mathematics.

Wiley InterScience provides access to almost 400 journals in the sciences.  Mathematics titles include Complexity, Journal of Combinatorial Design, Journal of Graph Theory, and Mathematical Logic Quarterly.

 

PRINT JOURNALS IN THE UHH LIBRARY

American Mathematical Monthly 1958-
Bulletin of the American Mathematical Society 1953-2002
Mathematics Magazine 1991-
Mathematics Teacher 1990-
Pacific Journal of Mathematics 1976-1984
Studies in Applied Mathematics 1969-
Teaching Children Mathematics 1994-

Students at UH Hilo may request books and some A/V material owned by UH Manoa or any other UH library through the library’s intrasystem loan service. Fees may apply.