Edwin H. Mookini Library

 

Starting Research / Research Guides / Writing Lab / Online Resources
Finding Books / Journal Articles and Indexes / Web Sites

Finding Books using Hawai’i Voyager

Use Hawai’i Voyager (the library’s online catalog) to search for books, DVDs and videos in the library collection. Use the Basic Search or the Advanced Search to search by Author, Subject, Title or Keyword. You can also search for items in all UH System Libraries and request items from other libraries using our Intrasystem Loan service.

Examples of subject searches in the Hawai’i  Voyager catalog for topics in Marine Biology are (The items are listed with the most current publications first):

Marine algae

Marine animals

Marine biology

Marine ecology

Marine fishes

Marine invertebrates

Marine mammals

Marine microbiology

Marine organisms

Coral Reefs

Marine plankton

Marine plants

Sea turtles

Whales

Sharks

 

 

 

 

Most books can be borrowed for 28 days and can be renewed online using the My Account feature. Most of the library’s DVDs and videos can be borrowed for 4 days and can be renewed once.

Other examples of subject searches for Marine Science topics are:

Marine parks

Marine resources

Marine pollution

Marine sediments

Ocean atmosphere interaction

Ocean bottom

Ocean circulation

Ocean temperature

Ocean currents

Ocean waves

Coastal ecology

Tsunamis

 

 

 

 

Journal Articles and Indexes

Find journal articles relating to your research topic using these electronic databases available from the Library's web page. For student/faculty access from off-campus, enter your UH ID barcode number and last name when prompted.

ScienceDirect
Indexes more than 1500 scientific, technical and medical peer-reviewed journals, providing abstracts and many full-text articles. Search by topic or browse table of contents (including "In Proof" articles not yet published).

Academic Periodical Search:
Use this online database to search several indexes at once. Retrieves full-text articles for over 50% of the journal titles indexed.

The library offers students and faculty several electronic indexes to search for information specifically on Biology and Marine Science topics:

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
An international index of abstracts from journals, reports, monographs, dissertations, etc., covering all biological and environmental aspects of marine, freshwater, and brackish environments.

Biological Abstracts
Includes full citations and current life science abstracts derived from approximately 7,000 biological and biomedical journals from over ninety countries.

Oceanic Abstracts
Provides citations and abstracts for journal articles in the subjects of marine biology, ocean engineering, oceanography and marine biology.

Hawaii Pacific Journal Index.
Produced by UH Manoa's Hamilton library, the Hawaii Pacific Index contains citations to over 200 journal and magazine titles that focus on Hawaii, and the South Pacific/Oceania. This database indexes some local periodicals, such as Elepaio and Environment Hawaii, that might have useful articles for local topics.

Articles from journals that are not owned by the Mookini Library can be ordered online using the Library's Interlibrary Loan service.

We also have online access to Marine Ecology Progress Series.

Websites

When using sources of information from the World Wide Web, critically evaluating what you find is very important so you can identify accurate information sources relevant to your topic. Some useful sites to begin exploring are:

Marine Science

Natural Energy Laboratory of Hawaii

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Department of Commerce

Marenet (Network of Marine Research Institutions and Documents) Supported by the German Society for Marine Research

Hawaii Division of Aquatic Resources

National Ocean Service

Ocean Portal

Scripps Institute of Oceanography

General

Dictionary of Units

Science.gov

New Scientist: Special reports on key topics in science and technology

Chemistry

Beilstein Abstracts - ChemWeb

Biology

Animal Diversity Web (University of Michigan, Museum of Zoology)

Endangered Species Program

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service