|
Using the library involves learning how to use its resources and also
acquiring a new library vocabulary. This guide defines some basic library
terms as simply as possible. In some instances, a term is used in context
to aid in understanding. If a term used in a definition is also defined,
it is in boldface type. Please remember that the library meaning of these
terms are provided.
Services and Related Terms
| Check out |
To borrow material from a library |
| Circulation Desk |
In most libraries the place where books and other library
materials are borrowed |
| Copy Card |
Card that is paid for in advance for use with copy
machines and/or printers that charge for printing. Sometimes called
a debit card. |
| Hold |
To have a book that has been borrowed by another person
kept for you when it is returned; the request must be made at the
Circulation Desk |
| ILL |
Interlibrary Loan; a service provided by the library
which gets books and/or articles that are not available in our collection
from another library |
| ISL |
Intersystem Loan; a service provided by the library
which gets materials from other libraries in the UH System |
| Information/Reference Desk |
The place where a librarian is available to help people
locate information or use the library |
| Renewal |
To borrow library material again for another loan period. |
Collections and Related Terms
| Call Number |
The "address" of a single item within a library.
It is a unique code made up of letters and numbers, that identifies
exactly where an item would be found in the library (for example PS628
.A85 P65) |
| Circulating collection |
Collection of materials that can be borrowed |
| Closed |
Materials that are shelved behind the Circulation Desk;
you must ask for them |
| Folio/Grandfolio |
Oversized books that are too big to fit on regular
shelves; folios and grandfolios are found at the end of regular sections
of books on shelving spaced for taller books |
| Government Documents |
Materials published by the government; in our library
most federal government publications are found in Government Documents |
| Library of Congress (LC) Classification System |
System used to create call numbers made up of letters
and numbers which indicate the subject of material. This keeps books
on the same topic together (for example call numbers beginning with
L are used for education material); used in this and most college
libraries |
| Location Symbol |
Codes that are found before a call number that indicate
the item is shelved in a special location (like Closed, Folio, etc.) |
| Reference |
Collection of books that must be used in the library;
usually encyclopedias, directories, statistical sources, etc. |
| Reserves |
Materials that are available for only limited time
periods because they are required reading for a course. Your instructor
decides what is placed on reserve. |
| Search |
To request that the library look for missing books,
journals, etc. |
| Stacks |
Rows of book shelves |
Types of Materials and Related Terms
| Abstract |
1) A summary of an article or book; 2) An index which
also provides summaries |
| Annotated |
Includes a summary, like an annotated bibliography |
| Bibliography |
A list of materials on a subject, usually found at
the end of books or articles; sometimes it can be an entire book |
| Citation |
Information about a particular reference source (a
book or article for example) that identifies it uniquely, such as
the author, title, publisher of a book or the name of the journal
an article appears in, the date of publication, etc. |
| Directory |
A list of persons or organizations usually in alphabetical
or other order which gives addresses, telephone numbers, and other
information (for example a telephone book) |
| DVD |
Digital Video Discs are double sided compact discs
that can hold a full length movie, a complete soundtrack and more,
up to 4.2 gigabytes |
| General encyclopedia |
A book or set of books with informational articles on
subjects in every field of knowledge arranged in alphabetical order |
| Index |
1) An alphabetical list of terms found in the text
at the end of a book or set of books with the page number(s) these
terms are found on; 2) A list of articles available in periodicals
or newspapers usually arranged alphabetically by subject |
| Journal |
A periodical containing articles, current news and
reports of activities and work in one subject area |
| Magazine |
A periodical for general reading containing articles
on many subjects by different authors |
| Microfiche |
A sheet of film with photographs of printed material;
some periodicals and government documents in this library are found
in this format; a special machine to read it is needed |
| Microfilm |
A roll of film with photographs of printed material;
all older newspapers and some periodicals in this library are found
in this format; a special machine to read it is needed |
| Periodical |
Usually called magazines or journals, a publication containing
articles that is published at regular times (weekly, monthly, etc.)
|
| Serial |
A publication that is published at regular intervals;
includes periodicals |
| Series |
A group of materials on the same subject that is published
by the same publisher and is treated as a unit and kept together (for
example the Twayne's Critical History of Poetry Series) |
| Subject encyclopedia |
A book or set of books containing informational articles
about a special subject area |
| Thesaurus |
1) A list of specialized words or terms of a particular subject
area; 2) a list of synonyms, words with similar meanings
|
| Videodisc |
An optical disc that can be used to store full-motion
video. It is 12 in. in diameter |
Computer Terms
| Bibliographic Record |
Information about a single item in a computer database
which includes author, title, publisher, publication date, etc. |
| Browser |
Software used to access what is available on the WWW
such as Netscape or Internet Explorer |
| CDROM |
Compact Disc Read Only Memory; a compact disc that
is read by a computer; in libraries they contain information, usually
an encyclopedia, a reference book, or an index |
| Database |
A collection of facts, statistics, or items of information
organized for access by computer |
| Download |
To copy information retrieved from a computer database
to a computer disk. |
| Fields |
Parts of a bibliographic record that provide specific
information about an item, like the author field, title field, etc. |
| Full text |
The complete article or book; usually this term is used
with computerized sources of information |
| Internet |
Worldwide interconnection of computer networks used
for email, online discussions, accessing databases, and the WWW |
| Laptop |
A portable computer with wireless internet access. Can
be borrowed at the Circulation Desk for free |
| Laptop lines |
Similar to telephone lines. Available on the library
main level to provide internet access to personal laptops |
| Log on |
The process of entering a computer database |
| Multimedia |
Material presented in a combination of text, graphics,
video, animation, and sound. A PC capable of showing multimedia materials
is called multimedia station |
| Online catalog |
A computerized listing of materials, usually books,
available in a library |
| PAC |
Public Access Catalog; term used for the electronic
or online catalog of library materials |
| Pharos |
Printing system used in UHH Library which allows printing
from the computer stations for a fee; a copy card is required |
| Printout |
Paper copy of information found on a computer |
| Search engine |
A program that enables searching of web sites using
key words such as Alta Vista, Lycos, Yahoo |
| Search statement |
When looking for information in a database, the term(s)
typed in to tell the computer what you are looking for |
| Status |
The line on the online catalog screen that tells you
if a book has been checked out or is available |
| URL |
Uniform Resource Locator; the "address" which
specifies exactly where a web page is located that begins with an
"http://" prefix |
| Web page |
Document accessed via the WWW that is usually written
using HTML (Hypertext Markup Language) that enables the user to link
to graphics, other words, or other web pages; also called a home page |
| Web Site |
Address on the WWW that contains one or more web or
home pages |
| WWW |
World Wide Web. Part of the Internet with multimedia
capabilities (text, audio, video, etc.) |
|