Edwin H. Mookini Library

 

Starting Research / Research Guides / Writing Lab / Online Resources

Welcome to the Hawaiian Collection of the Edwin H. Mookini Library. The collection consists of monographs, periodicals, maps, pamphlets, and a small collection of reprints that pertain to Hawai‘i and Hawaiians. The materials in this room all have "HAWN" in the location field (LOCN) of their Voyager records.

ROOM DIRECTORY

The Hawaiian Collection is located on the Main Level. When you reach the Reference Desk, turn left and you will see the room straight ahead. The layout of the room can be found here.

FINDING MATERIALS IN THE HAWAIIAN COLLECTION

Unless you know the location and call number of the material already, the first step should be searching the Library's online catalog, Hawai'i Voyager, to find its location and call number. Pay special attention to the location, because there are FOUR different areas within the Hawaiian Collection. These are:

HAWN REF
HAWN
HAWN GFOLIO
HAWN VAULT or HILO VAULT

HAWN REF is the designation for the Hawaiian reference books, which cannot be checked out. It refers to the first two rows of lower stacks, 1 and 2 on the map. Some current and heavily used Hawaiian reference books can also be found behind the Reference Desk. Ask a Librarian for assistance.

HAWN is the designation for most of the Hawaiian books and periodicals which are shelved on the lower stacks (2 to 9 on the map) and the higher stack along the wall. Most of the books in this area can be checked out, but some are "Library Use Only." Books are checked out at the Circulation Desk at the front of the Library (not at the Hawaiian Collection Desk).

HAWN GFOLIO is where oversized Hawaiian books are shelved. It refers to the lower stack, number 10 on the map. Most of these books can be checked out.

HAWN VAULT or HILO VAULT is where non-circulating Hawaiian materials are shelved. Complete a request card found near the Voyager terminal, then ask library staff or student assistants at the Hawaiian Collection Desk or the Reference Desk to get the book for you. A current I.D. is needed to borrow materials from the vault and will be held until the material is returned. You can borrow the material for two hours. Vault material must be used in the Hawaiian Collection.

Some older Hawaiian material are found on the Upper Level in the Hawaiian Storage section. This will be noted in the catalog.

To find Hawaiian magazines, go to the Library's web page and search by title using the 'Find Periodicals' search box. Some of the magazines are in the Hawaiian Collection and others are on the Upper Level in the Periodical Backfiles. To find Hawaiian newspapers, search Hawai'i Voyager, the online catalog. Most of the Hawaiian newspapers, including microfilm, are located with other newspapers.

Hawaiian maps, pamphlets, and reprints are located near the Vault. Other sections of this guide provide information on how to locate them.

The best way to locate material is to search the catalog. Books on a topic can be found in several areas depending on the subject of a particular title. However, if you like to browse the shelves, some general call numbers to help you locate books by broad popular topics are:

  • Animals QL
  • Hawaiian Medicine QK 99
  • Heiau DU 629
  • History DU 620s
  • Legends GR 100-500s / PL 6440s
  • Music M
  • Mythology/Religion BL
  • Plants QK

HELPFUL TOOLS

Bibliographies are helpful in locating materials on certain subjects or by particular authors. Hawaiian newspaper and journal indexes, as well as bibliographies, are located in the Hawaiian Collection Index Carrel. These are some important ones:

The Hawaiians: An Annotated Bibliography
Listed alphabetically by author's name or title if author's name is absent. With subject index.

Indexes and Tables of Contents of Important Books on Hawaiian Culture
Helpful for finding books on Hawaiian culture, also lists the call numbers for these books.

Hawaiian Legends Index, volume 1 — 3
(Located at Ref. Desk 3, behind the Reference Desk.)
Useful for finding Hawaiian legends by topic or geographic area.

Index to Hawaiian Legends in English: An Annotated Bibliography
(Located in 2 areas: Ref. Desk 3 and Hawaiian Collection Index Carrel)
This index supplements the book Hawaiian Legends in English: An Annotated Bibliography.

Online Resources Links to websites with information and statistical data about Hawaii and the Pacific.

Index to Hawaiian Annual, 1875 — 1932
(Located at the Hawaiian Collection Index Carrel)
Also called Thrum's Annual Index or Thrum's Hawaiian Annual Index, it consists of 2 volumes: name index and subject index.

Hawai‘i Pacific Journal Index
Indexes more than 50 Hawaiian and Pacific journals.

Hawaiian Newspaper Index (Printed / Electronic format)
Print Hawaiian newspaper indexes can be found in the Hawaiian Collection Index Carrel, Ref. Desk 3,and Indexes/Abstracts.
In addition, the Honolulu Advertiser/Star Bulletin Index is available at the Hawai'i State Public Library's web site.

Hawai‘i Island Newspaper Index (Printed format)
Located in 3 areas: Hawaiian Collection Index Carrel, Ref. Desk 3, and the Hawaiian Index Table in the Reference area.
This print index is used to find newspaper articles about the Big Island. It provides coverage of the Hawai‘i Tribune Herald, the Honolulu Advertiser, and West Hawai‘i Today (beginning 1998) from 1988.

MAPS

The Hawaiian Collection also houses a map collection, which includes all of the USGS topographic series going back to the first decade of the 20th century. We also have County zoning maps and a copy collection of older maps, including some from the Hawaiian Government Survey.

Only a few of our maps are indexed in Hawai'i Voyager. The older maps are listed in "Maps of Historic Interest" in the UH Hilo Library Hawaiian Collection, which is kept on the Map cabinet. If you want to consult a map, please make an appointment with a staff member. These maps cannot be checked out of the Library. We have no facilities for copying large maps.

There are also some Hawai‘i maps on the Upper Level (at the back of Government Documents). Most of these can be checked out.

The Library also provides online access to the historical Digital Sanborn Maps for the state of Hawai'i, going back to 1914 for some locales.

REPRINTS

Hawaiian reprints are housed in a file cabinet in the Hawaiian Collection. These reprints are primarily journal articles, book chapters or essays on high interest topics which have been collected and cataloged for better accessibility. Reprints must be used in the library.

UNCATALOGED MATERIAL

The Library receives some publications that are not cataloged and so are not found in the online catalog. These include some newsletters, newspapers, and pamphlets. Inquire at the Hawaiian Collection desk or the Reference Desk.

HOURS

Hours are subject to change each semester. Check the schedule posted on the door of the Hawaiian Collection for current hours.