Edwin H. Mookini Library

 

Starting Research / Research Guides / Writing Lab / Online Resources

Geology Research Guide
A Guide to Information Resources

Definition 

Geology:  a science that deals with the history of the earth and its life especially as recorded in rocks; also, a study of the solid matter of a celestial body (as the moon); New Latin geologia, from ge- + -logia -logy.

- from Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary

Geology is a broad discipline encompassing several smaller disciplines.  These include, but are not limited to: Mineralogy, Petrology, Geochemistry, Geomorphology, Paleontology, Volcanology and Structural Geology.

 

Scope of this Guide

This Guide is designed to provide a starting point for Geology research.  It contains a list of some of the overview sources available at the Mookini Library in Geology and some of its subdisciplines. 

Handbooks, Encyclopedias, and Dictionaries
Periodicals
Periodical Indexes and Abstracts
Websites
Professional Associations and Government Agencies

 

Library of Congress Call Number Ranges

UH Hilo uses the Library of Congress call number system.  Geology and its subtopics are under the subclass QE, and the ranges are as follows:

QE1-996.5                    Geology
QE1-350.62                  General, including geographical divisions
QE1-49                                     Various topics; study, teaching
QE50-55                                   Catalogs and Collections
QE351-399.2                Mineralogy
QE420-499                   Petrology
QE500-639.5                Dynamic (Volcanic) and structural geology
QE521-545                               Volcanoes and earthquakes
QE601-613.5                            Structural Geology
            QE640-699                   Stratigraphy
            QE701-760                   Paleontology
            QE760.8-899.2              Paleozoology
            QE901-996.5                Paleobotany

Adapted from the Library of Congress website.


Handbooks, Encyclopedias, and Dictionaries

General

Encyclopedia of geology, edited by Richard C. Selley, L. Robin M. Cocks, Ian R. Plimer
Call number: QE5.E516 2005  (Reference only)
This is a five volume reference work divided into 340 articles covering nearly all aspects of geology; it is intended for an undergraduate audience. 

The encyclopedia of world regional geology, edited by Rhodes W. Fairbridge
Call number: QE5 F33  (Reference only)
Volume 8 of the Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences Series; it was published in 1975, so some of its information may be outdated.

Glossary of geology, Margaret Gary, Robert McAfee, Jr., and Carol L. Wolf, editors, with a foreword by Ian Campbell.
Call Number: QE5 G37 1974  (Reference only)

The new Penguin dictionary of geology, by Philip Kearey.
Call Number: QE5.K42 2001 (Reference only)
Published fairly recently (2001); contains definitions of thousands of geologic terms as well as a bibliography of geologic works.

The encyclopedia of field and general geology, edited by Charles W. Finkl
Call Number: QE5.E515 1988 (Reference only)
Volume 14 of the Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences Series.

Mineralogy
 
Guide to minerals, rocks & fossils, by A.C. Bishop, A.R. Woolley, W.R. Hamilton.
Call Number: QE363.8.B48 2005 (Reference only)
A useful handbook which includes 600 color photos of specimens; it also covers the crystalline structure and various properties of these minerals, and was published very recently, in 2005.

Handbook of mineralogy, by John W. Anthony ... [et al.]
Call Number: QE366.8.H36 1990
This handbook is volume 1 of the series and covers “elements, sulfides [and] sulfosalts.”

Encyclopedia of minerals, Willard Lincoln Roberts, Thomas J. Campbell, George Robert Rapp, Jr.; photo editor, Wendell E. Wilson.
Call Number: QE355.R6 1990 (Reference only)
Includes formulae and some photos for every generally accepted mineral species. 

The Encyclopedia of minerals and gemstones, edited by Michael O’Donoghue.
Call Number: QE363.2.E5

Petrology

Practical handbook of physical properties of rocks and minerals, edited by Robert S. Carmichael.
Call Number: QE431.6.P5 P73 1989
Intended to be a source of basic information on the physical properties of rocks and minerals.

Geochemistry

The encyclopedia of geochemistry and environmental sciences, edited by Rhodes W. Fairbridge.
Call Number: QE515 F24  (Reference only)

Treatise on geochemistry, executive editors, H.D. Holland and K.K. Turekian.
Web Resource: http://micro189.lib3.hawaii.edu/ezproxy/details.php?dbId=49057  (Available to UH Manoa students, faculty and staff)
This is a ten volume set, each consisting of 15 to 25 chapters.  This is a huge resource for geochemistry, and is entirely available online.

Geomorphology

Encyclopedia of geomorphology, edited by A.S. Goudie.
Call Number: GB400.3.E53 2004  (Reference only)
This is a two volume set with almost 700 alphabetically arranged entries.

Paleontology

The Encyclopedia of paleontology, edited by Rhodes W. Fairbridge, David Jablonski.
Call Number: QE703 E52

Encyclopedia of paleontology, editor, Ronald Singer.
Call Number: QE703.E523 1999 (Reference only)
This encyclopedia contains 328 articles from 206 contributors on various aspects of paleontology; it is intended for a non-specialist audience.

Volcanology

Encyclopedia of volcanoes, editor-in-chief, Haraldur Sigurdsson ; associate editors, Bruce F. Houghton ... [et al.] ; foreword by Robert D. Ballard.
Call Number: QE522.E53 2000  (Reference only)
Contains 82 articles divided into 9 sections, with over 100 international contributors.

Structural Geology

The Encyclopedia of structural geology and plate tectonics, edited by Carl K. Seyfert.
Call Number: QE601.E53 1987  (Reference only)
Also part of the Encyclopedia of Earth Science Series (volume 10). 


Periodicals

A list of Geology-related journals, both print and electronic, available to UH Hilo students, faculty and staff is available.

Complete information on the Library's periodical holdings can be found at the library's online catalog Hawai`i Voyager. Go to Find Articles for more information about how to locate a journal issue in the Library.

Some of the periodicals available through the library:

Applied Geochemistry – available in print; also available in digital format from 1995-present.

Earthquakes and Volcanoes –  available in print; also available in digital format from 1990-1994.

Journal of Seismology –  available in digital format from 1997-present.

Mineralogy and Petrology –  available in digital format from 1997-present.


Periodical Indexes and Abstracts

Georef – A subscription database available to UHH and HawCC students, faculty and staff.

JSTOR – A subscription database available to UHH and HawCC students, faculty and staff.

Columbia Earthscape Books, journals, papers, and image banks covering ecology, environmental science, physical geography, geology, meteorology, oceanography and paleontology.

Global Volcanism Program Database – Volcanic activity reports provided by the Smithsonian Institution, available to all.

Quakeline Database – “A bibliographic database developed and maintained by the Information Service” of the Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research (MCEER), and available to all.

 

Websites

USGS Library Home Page - Provides "access to over 300,000 book, map, and serial records in the U.S. Geological Survey online catalog."  The USGS also offers an online ASK-A-LIBRARIAN reference service.

Hawai`i Bibliographic Database - Operated by the Hawaiian Volcano Observatory, USGS.  This database "contains over 13,000 references" and is intended "to contain all of the literature, from 1779 to present, pertinent to the volcanological history of the Hawaiian-Emperor volcanic chain."

Encyclopedia of Earth - "a new electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The Encyclopedia is a free, fully searchable collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The articles are written in non-technical language and will be useful to students, educators, scholars, professionals, as well as to the general public."

Geology.com - "Earth Science News, Dictionary, Maps, Jobs & More"

 

Professional Associations and Government Agencies

The Geological Society of America
PO Box 9140
Boulder, CO 80301-9140

American Geological Institute
4220 King St.
Alexandria, VA 22302-1502

American Geophysical Union
2000 Florida Avenue N.W.
Washington, DC 20009-1277

United States Geological Survey
USGS National Center
12201 Sunrise Valley Drive
Reston, VA 20192

British Geological Survey
Kingsley Dunham Centre
Keyworth,
Nottingham NG12 5GG
United Kingdom

International Union of Geological Sciences
Secretary General, IUGS
Geological Survey of Canada
601 Booth Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0E8, Canada

Created 12/04/2006
By Library School Student Sara Abraham
Edited by Librarian Amy Saxton