Edwin H. Mookini Library

 

Starting Research / Research Guides / Writing Lab / Online Resources
GENERAL REFERENCES

Crawford, Mark. Habitats and Ecosystems: An Encyclopedia of Endangered America. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1999.
REF QH76 .C73 1999

Beacham's Guide to International Endangered Species. Osprey, FL: Beacham Pub, 1998-
REF QL82 .B435 1998

Conservation and Environmentalism: An Encyclopedia. New York: Garland Pub., 1995.
REF GE10 C68 1995

Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology. San Diego: Academic Press, 1995. (3 volumes)
REF QH540.4 E52 1995

Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 2000. (3 volumes)
REF GE10 .E52 2000

Encyclopedia of the Biosphere. Detroit, MI; London: Gale, 2000. (11 volumes).
REF QH343.4 .B5613 2000

Global Environment Outlook. New York: Oxford University Press, 1997-
REF GE170 .G5625

Harrison, Paul and Fred Pearce. AAAS Atlas of Population and Environment. Berkeley, CA; London: University of California Press, 2000.
REF HB849.415 .H374 2000

Wiley Encyclopedia of Energy and the Environment. New York: Wiley, 1997. (2 volumes)
REF TJ163.235 .W55 1997

DICTIONARIES

Dictionary of Ecology and the Environment. Chicago, IL: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1998.
REF QH540.4 C65 1998

Donahue, Debra L. Conservation and the Law: A Dictionary. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1998.
REF KF5505 .A68 D66 1998

Wyman, Bruce and Harold Stevenson. Facts on File Dictionary of Environmental Science. New York: Facts on File, 2001.
REF TD9 .W95 2001

EXAMPLES OF RESOURCES IN THE HAWAIIAN COLLECTION

Clark, Athline M. And David Gulko. Hawai'i's State of the Reefs, 1998. Honolulu, HI: Dept. of Land and Natural Respurces, [1999].
HAWN QH76.5 .H3 C6 1999

Dudley, Walter C. and Min Lee. Tsunami. Honolulu, HI: University of Hawai'i Press, 1998.
HAWN GC222 .H3 D84 1998

Frankel, David Kimo. Protecting Paradise: A Citizen's Guide to Land & Water Use Controls in Hawai'i. Kailua, HI: Dolphin Print. & Pub., 1997.
HAWN KFH458 .F73 1997

Gulko, David. Hawaiian Coral Reef Ecology. Honolulu, HI: Mutual Publishing, 1998.
HAWN QH541.5 .C7 G85 1998

Kepler, Angela Kay. Hawaiian Heritage Plants. Honolulu, HI: University of Hawai'i Press, 1998.
HAWN QK473 .H4 K46 1998

Liittschwager, David and Susan Middleton. Remains of a Rainbow: Rare Plants and Animals of Hawai'i. Washington, DC: National Geographic in association with Environmental Defense Fund, with the assistance of National Tropical Botanical Garden & the Nature Conservancy of Hawai'i, 2001.
HAWN GRANDFOLIO QH76.5 .H3 L55 2001

University of Hawaii at Hilo, Dept. of Geography. Atlas of Hawai'i. Honolulu, HI: University of Hawai'i Press, 1998.
HAWN G1534.20 .U5 1998

ELECTRONIC INDEXES/ABSTRACTS

Find journal articles relating to your research topic using these electronic databases available from the Library's web page. (For student/faculty access from off-campus, enter your UHH/HawCC barcode number and last name when prompted.) Two excellent general databases are:

ScienceDirect
Indexes more than 1500 scientific, technical and medical peer-reviewed journals, providing abstracts and many full-text articles. Search by topic or browse table of contents (including "In Proof" articles not yet published).

Academic Periodical Search
Use this online database to search several indexes at once. Retrieves full-text articles for over 50% of the journal titles indexed.

The library also offers students and faculty several electronic indexes to search for information in specific fields of study that relate to environmental studies:

SPECIALIZED BIOLOGY AND MARINE SCIENCE INDEXES:

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts*
An international index of abstracts from journals, reports, monographs, dissertations, etc., covering all biological and environmental aspects of marine, freshwater, and brackish environments.

Biological Abstracts*
Includes full citations and current life science abstracts derived from approximately 7,000 biological and biomedical journals from over ninety countries.

Oceanic Abstracts*
Provides citations and abstracts for journal articles in the subjects of marine biology, ocean engineering, oceanography and marine biology.

SPECIALIZED GEOLOGY/EARTH SCIENCE INDEX:

GeoRef*
Provides 1.8 million references to articles, books, maps, etc., covering the geology of North America (1785-present) and the geology of the rest of the world (1933-present).

*These indexes do not contain full-text articles. To locate the full article, search the Library's Online Catalog - Hawai'i Voyager by "Journal Title". Articles from journals that are not owned by the Mookini Library can be ordered online using the Library's Interlibrary Loan service. Ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.

WORLD WIDE WEB SITES

When using sources of information from the World Wide Web, critically evaluating what you find is very important so you can identify accurate information sources relevant to your topic. Some useful sites to begin exploring are:

University of California at Santa Barbara Library's Environmental Sciences Internet Resources page

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Publications Online

United Nations Environment Programme's Environment Network

Try using Elsevier Science's search engine, Scirus, to find scientific information on the internet (including scientist's home pages).