Library Resources on Counseling Psychology

SCOPE

The Encyclopedia of Psychology1 defines “counseling psychology” as follows:

Counseling psychology facilitates personal and interpersonal functioning across the life span with a focus on emotional, social, vocational, educational, health related, developmental, and organizational concerns. As one of the general practice health service provider specialties, counseling psychology addresses both normal developmental issues and dysfunctional or disordered developmental issues from individual, family, group, systems, and organizational perspectives. Counseling psychology helps people with physical, emotional, and mental disorders improve their well-being, alleviate distress and maladjustment, resolve crises, and increase their ability to live more highly functioning lives (Vol. 2, p. 317).

The library’s collection of materials was built to support the curriculum developed for the M.A. in Counseling Psychology. Therefore, our library holdings and this guide emphasize the elements of that program.

This guide provides references to published materials on counseling psychology and has been compiled to help students make the most of the library’s electronic resources and print materials and to locate the most reliable resources on the World Wide Web. It is not a complete bibliography of library holdings on counseling psychology but one designed to point the student to where material on the subject may be found.

1 Kazdin, A.E. (Ed.). (2000). The Encyclopedia of Psychology (Vol. 2) Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association and New York, Oxford: Oxford University Press.

TOP OF PAGE

 

INTRODUCTIONS TO COUNSELING

Gelso, C., & Fretz, B. (2001). Counseling psychology (2nd ed.). Fort Worth: Harcourt College Publishers.
General Collection BF637.C6 G414 2001

Thompson, R.A. (2003). Counseling techniques : improving relationships with others, ourselves, our families, and our environment (2nd ed.). New York: Brunner-Routledge, 2003.
General Collection RC480 .T449 2003

Brown, S.D., & Lent, R.W. (2000). Handbook of counseling psychology (3rd ed.). New York: J. Wiley & Sons.
General Folio BF637.C6 H315 2000

Woolfe, R., Dryden, W., & Strawbridge, S. (Eds.). Handbook of counselling psychology (2nd ed.). (2003). Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.
General Collection BF637.C6 H316 2003

Burnard, P. (1999). Practical Counselling and Helping. London: Routledge. [Electronic book]

TOP OF PAGE

 

SUBJECT SEARCHING IN THE VOYAGER CATALOG

Books and media on all subjects are indexed in UH Hilo’s Voyager catalog.

A click on the links below will perform the search in UH Hilo’s catalog. Subject headings used by the library, under which books on counseling can be located in most card, book, and online catalogs, include the following:

Highly Relevant Subject Headings

COUNSELING This will retrieve books and media on counseling in general as well as more specific aspects of the subject.

The following terms also bring up many titles relevant to counseling:

PSYCHOTHERAPY
MENTAL DISORDERS THERAPY

Narrower Subject Headings
Different approaches to counseling may be found by trying such subjects as:

CROSS-CULTURAL COUNSELING
GROUP COUNSELING
EMPLOYEES COUNSELING OF
CRIMINALS COUNSELING OF
MARRIAGE COUNSELING
COUNSELING METHODS

Or search on names of various types of therapy, such as:

BEHAVIOR THERAPY
COGNITIVE THERAPY
FAMILY THERAPY
DRUG ABUSE TREATMENT
ALCOHOLISM TREATMENT
SUBSTANCE ABUSE TREATMENT
GRIEF THERAPY

Related Subject Headings
You may also find these subjects headings helpful:

PSYCHOLOGICAL TESTS
POST-TRAUMATIC STRESS DISORDER
STRESS MANAGEMENT
VIOLENCE
AGGRESSIVENESS
CRISIS INTERVENTION

Use Hawai’i Voyager (the library’s online catalog) to search for books in the library collection. From the library's homepage, use the UH - Hilo Basic Search or the UH Hilo - Advanced Search to search by Author, Subject, Title, or Keyword. You can also Search all UH System Libraries and request items from other libraries

Finding Psychology Books to Check Out

Books related to counseling may be found in a number of areas within the library. We use the Library of Congress call number scheme to put our books in order by subject.

Subject Area Call Numbers Location in Library
Psychology BF Lower Level
Mental Health RA790 Lower Level
Neurosciences and Psychiatry RC 321-571 Lower Level
Social and Public Welfare / Criminology HV1-9960 Lower Level

TOP OF PAGE

 

ELECTRONIC BOOKS

The library has recently acquired electronic books to supplement its printed collection. These are especially useful for students who are not on campus. EBooks are accessed from the library homepage. Under the column entitled “Quick Links,” click on “eBooks.”

PsycBOOKS is a collection of several hundred books, most of them published by the American Psychological Association. This set of books is a rich source of information on any area of psychology, including counseling.

NetLibrary contains books on all subjects and includes some titles on psychology and counseling. Some of these are cataloged in Voyager, but most must be accessed from the netLibrary website.

Google Book Search allows you to search the text of thousands of books and either provides the full text or tells you where to buy or borrow he books.

TOP OF PAGE

 

FINDING BOOKS IN MAINLAND LIBRARIES

WorldCat lists books, audiovisual materials, and other items held by some 18,000 libraries worldwide. Its 1.3 billion items may be searched by author, keyword, title, and ISBN.

Once you have found a title you're interested in, you need to check our library's Voyager catalog to see if we have the book.

If you’re interested in a title that is not held by UH Hilo or any other library in the UH system, you may ask us to try to obtain it via interlibrary loan. Please be aware that it can take from three to five weeks for such books to arrive here. For more information and instructions on requesting material from other libraries, please click here.

TOP OF PAGE

 

SELECTED TEXTS OF INTEREST TO COUNSELING INTERNS

American Psychological Assn, Practice Directorate (1998). Practicing psychology in hospitals and other health care facilities.Washington, DC: American Psychological Association (1998). An electronic book in PsycBOOKS.

Lowman, R.L. (Ed.). (1998).The ethical practice of psychology in organizations. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. An electronic book in PsycBOOKS.

Maynard-Moody, S., & Musheno, M. (2003). Cops, teachers, counselors: stories from the front lines of public service. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press.
General Collection HV40.8.U6 M39 2003

TOP OF PAGE

 

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

General Psychology Encyclopedias

Kazdin, A.E. (Ed.). (2000). The Encyclopedia of psychology (8 vols.), Washington, DC: American Psychological Association and New York, Oxford: Oxford University Press. Comprehensive 8-volume encyclopedia for the field of psychology. This important encyclopedia is also available online through PsycBOOKS.
Reference BF31 .E52 2000

Craighead, W.E., & Nemeroff, C.B. (Eds.). (2001). The Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science (3rd ed.) (Vols. 1-4). New York: J. Wiley & Sons.
Reference BF31 .E52 2001

Specialized Encyclopedias

Spielberger, C. D. (Ed.). (2004). Encyclopedia of applied psychology (Vols. 1-3). Oxford; Boston: Elsevier Academic Press.
Reference BF636 .E52 2004

Kahn, A.P., & Fawcett, J. (Eds.) (2001). Encyclopedia of mental health. (2d ed.). New York: Facts on File.
Reference RC437 .K34 2001

Ulijaszek, S. J., Johnston, F.E., & Preece, M.A. (Eds.) (1998). The Cambridge encyclopedia of human growth and development. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.
General Folio QP84 .C26 1998

Ollendick, T.H., & Schroeder, C.S. (Eds.). (2003). Encyclopedia of clinical child and pediatric psychology. New York : Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers.
Reference RJ503.3 .E53 2003

TOP OF PAGE

 

DICTIONARIES

VandenBos, Gary R., ed. (2007) APA Dictionary of Psychology. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.
Reference BF 31 .A63 2007

Colman, A. M. (2006). A Dictionary of Psychology. (2nd ed.) Oxford: Oxford University Press.
Reference BF 31 .C65 2006

AllPsych.com Dictionary. Provides very short definitions for terms in psychology, but it may come in handy when you are off campus.

TOP OF PAGE

 

DISSERTATIONS

The library has access to the full text of North American theses and dissertations completed since 1997 in Digital Dissertations. Some examples of material available in full text on that site:

Ka'ahanui, S.L.K., Jr. (2003). Native Hawaiian preferences for counselor characteristics: An application of the Bradley-Terry-Luce model for paired comparison data (Doctoral dissertation, Simon Fraser University, 2003).

Suzuki, M.L. (2004). Counseling in a Hawaiian context: An ethnographic case study of two Hawaiian culture-based schools (Master’s thesis, University of Hawai'i, 2004).

TOP OF PAGE

 

JOURNALS

In order to find articles in periodicals on a specific topic, use one or more of the library's periodical indexes. Online indexes of most value in psychology are:

PsycINFO 1887-present. (The print equivalent is called Psychological Abstracts.) The leading index in the field, it provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines and covers approximately 1,400 journals, books and chapters in books, reports, theses and dissertations. PsycINFO links to full text journal articles found in the American Psychological Association’s PsycARTICLES database.

Academic Periodical Search Search both Academic Search Premier and the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection simultaneously. These databases provide many articles in full text. If the full text is not available, very often abstracts are provided. These indexes are excellent to start with, but you may also need to use other indexes to make sure your search has covered all relevant journals.

Related Journal Indexes:

ScienceDirect 1995-present. A full-text database covering over 1,000 academic journals in the sciences and social sciences.

ERIC 1966-present. The leading index in the field of Education provides 700,000+ citations to journal articles and reports.

Education Research Complete Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals; also includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.

Sociological Abstract 1963-present. Indexes and abstracts 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth abstracts of journal articles.

PubMed Access to citations and abstracts of the world's medical literature.

Finding Articles in Print and Online

The vast majority of journals we have available are now online. In order to find out if we have access to a journal, either in print format or online, use the “Find Periodicals” box on the library’s homepage. Type in the title of the journal (not the title of the article within the journal).

If we have it online, a link will be provided to the journals homepage, from which you may find the specific issue and article you’re looking for. If we have the journal in print format, the system will take you to the Voyager catalog record for the journal. It will tell you what years we have, and most likely will tell you we keep the journal in the Periodical Backfile Collection on the Upper Level of the Library.

Browsing the Journals We Have Available in Psychology

There is a list of the psychology journals we have access to, both in print and electronically.

Obtaining Articles from Journals the Library Does Not Have

Students may often obtain articles from journals to which the library does not subscribe. Through a process called “intrasystem loan,” this library requests articles from another library in the UH system. There is a $1.00 charge for the photocopy.

If no library in the UH system subscribes to a journal, it may still be possible for us to obtain the article, this time through “interlibrary loan.” For this service, we request items from libraries outside the UH system. Students may request ILL for a cost of $3.00 per article. It may take from three to five weeks to receive the article.

Click here for additional information and forms for both intrasystem and interlibrary loans.

TOP OF PAGE

 

ANNUAL REVIEWS

Each year, Annual Reviews, a nonprofit organization, publishes compilations of articles spanning a wide variety of topics for about 30 different disciplines. The authors are invited to contribute, and they each have the expertise to deliver a detailed, authoritative assessment of the state of theory and research of the topic under review. The Annual Review publications are often among the most cited periodicals in a given discipline.

The library subscribes to a number of Annual Reviews relevant to the Counseling Psychology program.

Annual Review of Clinical Psychology
We also have this in print format.
General Collection RC 467 .A56

Annual Review of Psychology
We also have this in print format.
General Collection BF 30 .A56

Annual Review of Sociology
We also have this in print format.
General Collection HM 1 .A763

TOP OF PAGE

 

IMPORTANT REFERENCE TITLES

American Psychiatric Association. Task Force on DSM-IV. (2000). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-IV-TR (Text Revision) (4 th ed.). Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Association, 2000.
CLOSED RC455.2.C4 D536 2003

 

TOP OF PAGE

 

RESEARCH METHODS AND WRITING FOR THE PROFESSION

Schinka, J.A. & Velicer, W.F. (Eds.). (2003). Research methods in psychology . Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons . This is volume 2 of the 12-volume Handbook of Psychology (I.B. Weiner, Ed.). The online version is also available through netLibrary.
General Collection BF121 .H1955 2003

McLeod, J. (2003). Doing counselling research (2nd ed.). London; Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.
General Collection BF637.C6 M37894 2003

Barker, C., Pistrang, N., & Elliott, R. (2002). Research methods in clinical psychology:an introduction for students and practitioners. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons. This is an eBook from netLibrary.

Sternberg, R.J. (2003). The psychologist's companion:a guide to scientific writing for students and researchers (4 th ed.). Cambridge, U.K.; New York: Cambridge University Press.
General Collection BF76.8 .S73 2003

Reed, J.G., & Baxter, P.M. (2003). Library use: handbook for psychology (3 rd ed.). Washington, DC: American Psychological Association. How to locate and use the psychology literature in the library and beyond.
Reference BF 76.8 R43 2003

Documentation Manuals

American Psychological Association. (2001). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (5 th ed.) Washington, DC: Author. Comprehensive instructions on citation formats. (Less complete information is also on the Web at the APA’s guide to citing electronic resources.)
CLOSED BF76.7 .P83 2001

Style manuals linked under Writing Tools from the library’s website summarize the APA’s guidelines for documenting sources. These will provide sufficient guidance in many situations, but the printed Publication Manual above is the final word.

TOP OF PAGE

 

PSYCHOLOGICAL TESTS

Handbooks

Hersen, M. (Ed.). (2004). Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment (vols 1-4). Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons. Vol. 1 : Intellectual and neuropsychological assessment, v. 2: Personality assessment, v. 3: Behavioral assessment; v. 4: Industrial and organizational assessment.
General Folio BF 176 .C654 2004

Groth-Marnat, G. (2003). Handbook of Psychological Assessment (4 th ed.). Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons. We have this in print format and also as an eBook through netLibrary.
General Collection BF176 .G76 2003

American Psychiatric Association. Task Force for the Handbook of Psychiatric Measures. (2000). Handbook of Psychiatric Measures. Washington, DC: Author. Accompanying CDROM held by the UH Hilo Counseling Psychology program.
Reference RC473 .P78 A46 2000

Finding Information about Tests

Murphy, L.L. (Ed.) (2002). Tests in Print VI. Lincoln, Neb.: Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, University of Nebraska-Lincoln: Distributed by the University of Nebraska Press. Bibliography of commericially available tests for use in education, psychology, and industry. Includes concise descriptions of tests and purchase information.
Reference BF 698.5 .B878 2002

Mental Measurements Yearbook . Lincoln, Neb.: Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, University of Nebraska. Contains long descriptions, critical evaluations, and bibliographies for hundreds of testing instruments.
Reference Z5814 P8 B932 [irregular]

Maddox, T. (Ed.) (1997). Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology..., (4 th ed). Austin, TX: Pro-Ed. For each test covered, the book provides: author, age level, purpose, description, time required, scoring, cost, and publisher.
Reference BF176 .T43 1997

The Testing and Assessment website of the American Psychological Association provides detailed instructions for finding information about psychological tests.

Finding Actual Tests

Psychological tests can be challenging to find because copyright law allows their authors to restrict distribution. Mental Measurements Yearbook, Tests, and Tests in Print, mentioned above, provide contact information for purchasing tests. ETS Testlink is a database maintained by the Educational Testing Service with descriptions of over 20,000 tests and often gives ordering information.

Some tests can be found in reference books and journal articles. Try the following indexes: PsycINFO, Academic Periodical Search (search both Academic Search Premier and the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection simultaneously), Digital Dissertations, Sociological Abstracts, and ERIC.

A number of websites link to tests:

AmoebaWeb Psychology on the Web. Click on “Online Tests” to find tests that have been posted on the Web.

Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests available in compilation volumes. Indexes the tests included in printed volumes.

Rating Scales guide posted by the University of Adelaide in Australia. Provides links to Web versions of numerous rating scales. Where these are not available, citations to scales in printed sources are sometimes given.

Finally, tests have been found on the "free web" using Google and other search engines. Please be aware that information on the web is more likely to be unreliable than information found in a scholarly journal or book.

TOP OF PAGE

 

ADDITIONAL INTERNET RESOURCES

All about Counseling Designed for the general public by counseling professions, the site covers such topics as counseling approaches, symptoms and diagnosis, risks, benefits, and social issues related to counseling.

Psych Central Created by Dr. John Grohol, this site provides annotated guides to useful websites in mental health, psychology, social work, and psychiatry.

Psychwatch Provides links to psychology-related news stories and other information of interest to professionals and students in mental health fields.

Project Cork A project of Dartmouth Medical School, Project Cork’s “mission is to assemble and disseminate current, authoritative information on substance abuse for clinicians, health care providers, human service personnel, and policy makers.”

TOP OF PAGE

 

COUNSELING ORGANIZATIONS

American Counseling Association. Its mission is “to enhance the quality of life in society by promoting the development of professional counselors, advancing the counseling profession, and using the profession and practice of counseling to promote respect for human dignity and diversity.” The website provides many relevant links, including links to the full text of Counseling Today Online, the 2005 ACA Code of Ethics, and listings of current employment opportunities.

American Psychological Association—Counseling Section. Includes a webpage for students.

National Board of Certified Counselors. This independent not-for-profit credentialing body for counselors promotes “quality counseling through certification.” It maintains a national certification system and a registry of counselors who have voluntarily sought and obtained their certification.

TOP OF PAGE