Library Resources on Chemistry
| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
SCOPE
|
| Call Numbers | Subject Area | Location in Library |
| QD 1-199 | Chemistry | Lower Level |
| QD 1-65 | General chemistry | Lower Level |
| QD 71-142 | Analytical chemistry | Lower Level |
| QD 146-197 | Inorganic chemistry | Lower Level |
| QD 241-441 | Organic chemistry | Lower Level |
| QD 415-436 | Biochemistry | Lower Level |
| QD 450-801 | Physical & theoritical chemistry | Lower Level |
| QD 625-655 | Radiation chemistry | Lower Level |
| QD 701-731 | Phogochemistry | Lower Level |
| QD 901-999 | Crystallography | Lower Level |
The library has recently acquired electronic books to supplement its printed collection. These are especially useful for students who are not on campus. EBooks are accessed from the library homepage. Under the column entitled “Quick Links,” click on “eBooks.”
NCBI Bookshelf
The Bookshelf is a growing collection of biomedical books that can be searched directly by typing a concept into the textbox above and selecting "Go".
NetLibrary contains books on all subjects and includes some titles on chemistry. Some of these are cataloged in Voyager, but most must be accessed from the netLibrary website.
The OnlineBooks page has thousands of freely available eBooks. Search for chemistry as a subject.
WorldCat lists books, audiovisual materials, and other items held by some 18,000 libraries worldwide. Its 1.3 billion items may be searched by author, keyword, title, and ISBN.
Once you have found a title you're interested in, you need to check our library's Voyager catalog to see if we have the book.
If you’re interested in a title that is not held by UH Hilo or any other library in the UH system, you may ask us to try to obtain it via interlibrary loan. Please be aware that it can take from three to five weeks for such books to arrive here. For more information and instructions on requesting material from other libraries, please click here.
Chemistry: foundations and applications. J. J. Lagowski, editor in chief.
Publisher: New York: Macmillan Reference USA, c2004.
Reference QD 31.2 .C41 2004
Dean’s analytical chemistry handbook. Pradyot Patnaik.
Reference QD 78 .P37 2004
Van Nostrand’s encyclopedia of chemistry. 5th ed. / edited by Glenn D. Considine.
Reference QD 4 .V36 2005
Encyclopedia of inorganic chemistry. Editor-in-chief R. Bruce King.
Edition: 2nd ed. Publisher: New York : Wiley, c2005.
Reference QD 148 .E53 2005
Hawley’s condensed chemical dictionary / revised by Richard J. Lewis, Sr. 14th ed.
Publisher: New York : Wiley, c2001.
Reference QD5 .C5 2001
The Facts on File dictionary of chemistry. Variant Title: Dictionary of chemistry
Edition: 3rd ed. / edited by John Daintith. Publisher: New York : Checkmark Books, c1999.
Reference QD5 .F33 1999
Dictionary of Organic Compounds
Chemistry and Environmental Dictionary
The library has access to the full text of North American theses and dissertations completed since 1997 in Digital Dissertations. Some examples of material available in full text on that site:
Farrenkopf, Anna Marie, PhD. (2000). Iodine speciation at the Hawaii Ocean Time-series station ALOHA and in the Arabian Sea. (University of Delaware, 2000).
Jaquess, Amy Beth, PhD. (1991). The role ofpH, soil type, organic matter content, and non-microbial reactions on pesticide degradation in surface and vadose zone California and Hawaii soils. (University of California, Davis, 1991)
Current issues of print periodicals are displayed on the Main Level behind the Reference area, arranged in broad subject areas. Most of our periodical backfiles are on the Lower Level (temporarily during renovation), shelved alphabetically by title.
In order to find articles in periodicals on a specific topic, use one or more of the library's periodical indexes. Online indexes of most value in chemistry are:
PubMed / MEDLINE, available via the NCBI Entrez retrieval system, was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH). Entrez is the text-based search and retrieval system used at NCBI for services including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, OMIM, and many others. PubMed provides access to citations from biomedical literature. LinkOut provides access to full-text articles at our library web site, journal Web sites, and other related Web resources. PubMed also provides access and links to the other Entrez molecular biology resources.
American Chemical Society Journals: Indexes and full text of 28 journals published by the ACS
Science Direct: Electronic journals published by Elsevier and Academic Press back to 1995. Covers all sciences, arts and humanities, business and economics, environment and energy, medicine and pharmacology, psychology and other social sciences.
SpringerLink: Over 350 electronic journals published by Springer and an additional 650 published by Kluwer. Access to articles published after 1996.
Blackwell Science, Technology, and Medicine Collection: Approximately 375 peer-reviewed journals in full text. Part of the Blackwell Synergy electronic journal database, the titles marked with a green spot are the science journals available to our library.
LexisNexis Academic
Click on “Business” then “industry and market”, then from the pull-down menu select "Chemicals, Plastics and Rubber News" (or "Pharmaceuticals and Cosmetics News"), then enter the name of the chemical or substance of interest in the "Topic" search box. Select a date range to search, then click on the "Search" button. Adding price as a keyword in the "Additional Terms" search box may increase the specificity of your results.
Wiley InterScience - Almost 400 electronic journals in the sciences and social sciences back to 1997 (where available).
Hazardous Substances Data Bank
HSDB is a toxicology data file on the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET®). It focuses on the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals. It is enhanced with information on human exposure, industrial hygiene, and emergency handling procedures, environmental fate, regulatory requirements, and related areas. All data are referenced and derived from a core set of books, government documents, technical reports, and selected primary journal literature. HSDB is peer-reviewed by the Scientific Review Panel (SRP), a committee of experts in the major subject areas within the data bank's scope. HSDB is organized into individual chemical records, and contains over 4800 such records.
Finding Articles in Print and Online
The vast majority of journals we have available are now online. In order to find out if we have access to a journal, either in print format or online, use the “Find Periodicals” box on the library’s homepage. Type in the title of the journal (not the title of the article within the journal).
If we have it online, a link will be provided to the journals homepage, from which you may find the specific issue and article you’re looking for. If we have the journal in print format, the system will take you to the Voyager catalog record for the journal. It will tell you what years we have, and most likely will tell you we keep the journal in the Periodical Backfile Collection on the Upper Level of the Library.
Browsing the Journals We Have Available in Chemistry
If you would like to see what chemistry journals we have access to, you may do so from the “Find Articles” page of the library’s website.
Obtaining Articles from Journals the Library Does Not Have
For information and instructions on requesting material from other libraries, please see the Loans from Other Libraries page.
Chemical Engineering Standards
From the University of Florida Chemical Engineering Department: Standards relevant to chemical and process engineering.
Scientific Standards Information
From the University of Virginia Library: This page contains links to Web resources dealing with scientific and other standards, as well as to the home pages of national and international standards organizations.
Martindale’s Calculator On-line Center Chemistry
Molinspiration: Calculation of Molecular Properties and Drug-likeness
The ACS style guide: a manual for authors and editors / Janet S. Dodd, editor.
Publisher: Washington, DC : American Chemical Society.
Reference Call Number: QD8.5 .A25 2006
The art of scientific writing : from student reports to professional publications in chemistry and related fields / Hans F. Ebel, Claus Bliefert, William E. Russey. 2nd, completely rev. ed. Publisher: Weinheim : Wiley-VCH, c2004.
General Collection QD9.15 .E23 2004
Lipson, Charles. Doing honest work in college: how to prepare citations, avoid plagiarism, and achieve real academic success. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 2004.
General Collection PN171.F56 L56 2004
ACS Reference Style Guidelines
ACS Guidelines for Documenting Sources
Directories provide organized access, generally by subject, to a particular set of Internet resources:
Yahoo! Chemistry
A directory of resources covering a wide range of chemistry subject areas.
Google Chemistry Directory
A directory of resources covering a wide range of chemistry subject areas.
Science.gov: A gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.
American Chemical Society
Contains news and events, links to ACS member information, the molecule of the week, information on ACS meetings and more.
Chemical Heritage Foundation
Offers many tools for the researcher, the student, and those who want to explore and discover how the chemical and molecular sciences have changed the world in which we live.
Yahoo Directory Chemistry Organization
Google Directory Clinical and Medicinal Chemistry
FDA Library of Chemistry Listservs
National Library of Medicine PubChem
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. PubChem includes substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data in three primary databases, PCSubstance, PCCompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively.
WebElements Periodic Table of Elements.
This site provides general, chemical, physical, nuclear, electronic, biological, and geological properties, plus crystallographic data, reduction potentials, isotope abundances, electronic configurations, and ionization enthalpies for the first 112 elements. Source: The University of Sheffield and WebElements Ltd, UK.
ChemExper Chemical Directory
The goal of this project is to realise a common and freely accessible database over the internet. This database contains chemical products with their physical characteristics. Everybody can submit chemical information using Expereact WEB and retrieve information from the ChemExper's WEB page.
ChemSpy.com
Provides a one stop shop for a wide range of search tools for chemistry professionals, students, and educators, looking for chemistry news, resources, databases, acronyms, definitions, and chemical industry information. Click for the ChemSpy chemical searching newsfeed.
What Every Chemist Should Know about Patents
This booklet covers the basics of patent law, with a US slant. Although it was written by chemists, for chemists, it is really for anyone working in industry or academia. It is provided as a PDF file, and downloading for non-commercial use is encouraged. Source: written for the ACS Joint Board-Council Committee on Patents and Related Matters.
NIST Photoelectron Spectroscopy Database gives easy access to the energies of many photoelectron and Auger-electron spectral lines. A highly interactive program allows the user to search by element, line type, line energy, and many other variables. Users can easily identify unknown measured lines by matching to previous measurements.
FDA Library of Chemistry Information
R&D Chemicals "A database of rare chemicals searchable for free using a chemist-friendly search engine."