Edwin H. Mookini Library

 

Starting Research / Research Guides / Writing Lab / Online Resources
GUIDES

Arntzen, Etta. Guide to the literature of art history. Chicago : American Library Association, 1980. REF Z5931 .A67

Barnet, Sylvan. A short guide to writing about art. New York : Longman, 1999. REF N7476 .B37 1999

Chamberlin, Mary W. Guide to art reference books. Chicago : American Library Association, 1959. REF Z5931 .C45

Ehresmann, Donald L. Fine arts : a bibliographic guide to basic reference works, histories, and handbooks. Littleton, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, 1979. REF Z5931 .E47 1979

Janson, H.W. History of art. New York : Abrams, 1995. N5300 .J3 1995.

Muehsam, Gerd. Guide to basic information sources in the visual arts. Santa Barbara, Calif. : 1978. REF N7425 .M88

Stokstad, Marilyn. Art history. New York : H.N. Abrams, 1995. N5300 .S923 1995.

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES

Dictionary of art. New York : Grove's Dictionaries, 1996. REF N31 .D5 1996

Encyclopedia of world art. New York, McGraw-Hill [1959]-1987. REF N31 .E56

Hall, James. Dictionary of subjects and symbols in art. New York : Harper & Row, 1979, c1974. REF N7560 H34 1974b

Howard, Daniel. Encyclopedia of themes and subjects in painting; mythological, Biblical, historical, literary, allegorical and topical. New York, H.N. Abrams, 1971. REF ND1288 .D3 1971

Munsterberg, Hugo. Dictionary of Chinese and Japanese art. New York : Hacker Art Books, 1981. REF N7340 .M78 1981

Praeger encyclopedia of art. New York : Praeger Publishers, 1971. REF N33 .P68

BIOGRAPHICAL DICTIONARIES AND INFORMATION

Artists of Hawaii. Honolulu : State Foundation on Culture & the Arts, 2 vols. [1974-1977] HAWN N6530 .H3 A78 1994

Contemporary artists. London : St. James Press, 1977- . REF N6490 .C6567 1996

Cummings, Paul. A dictionary of contemporary American artists. New York : St. Martin's Press, 1966. REF N6536 .C97d

Dictionary of women artists. London ; Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1997. REF N8354 .D53 1997

The Prestel dictionary of art and artists of the 20th century. Munich ; New York : Prestel, c2000. REF N33 .P74 2000

INDEXES TO PHOTOGRAPHS AND REPRODUCTIONS

Havlice, Patricia Pate. World Painting Index. Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1977. REF ND45 .H38

Kreisel, Martha. Photography books index : a subject guide to photo anthologies. Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, c1980. REF TR199 .M67

Monro, Isabel Stevenson. Index to reproductions of European paintings : a guide to pictures in more than three hundred books. New York : Wilson, 1956. REF ND45 .M6

Smith, Lyn Wall. Index to reproductions of American paintings appearing in more than 400 books mostly published since 1960. Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1977. REF ND205 .S575

ELECTRONIC INDEXES

Academic Search Premier
This database provides many articles in full text. When full text is not available, abstracts are usually provided.

JSTOR
A journal archive with full-text of over 200 older journals covering a wide range of topics.

To locate a journal (or source) that you need, check the Library's list of print and online journal holdings on the Libray's web page. Enter the title of the journal you need in the FIND PERIODICALS text box on the Library's home page.

Many articles from journals that are not owned by the UHH Library can be ordered online from Manoa and other UH campuses using the Library's Intrasystem Loan service. Ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.

WORLD WIDE WEB SITES

Writing the Art History paper
Dartmouth College writing program

How do I cite a work of art?
Dartmouth College writing program

The Mother of All Art History Link Pages
University of Michigan

Art Internet Resources
University of Hawaii at Manoa
NOTE: Some of the resources linked to on these pages may be available only to UH Manoa students.