This guide provides references to published materials on education and has been compiled to help make the most of the library’s electronic resources and print materials and to locate the most reliable resources on the World Wide Web. It is not a complete bibliography of the library holdings on education but designed to guide students to where materials on the subject can be found.
Books and media on all subjects are listed in UH Hilo’s Voyager catalog (the library’s online catalog). Voyager replaces the old card catalog and is the only place where you can find all the Library’s books, movies, and sound recordings listed. The Voyager catalog tells you everything we own and where it can be found.
Use Hawai‘i Voyager to search for books in the library collection. From the library's homepage, use the UH - Hilo Basic Search or the UH Hilo - Advanced Search to search by Author, Subject, Title, or Keyword. You can also Search all UH System Libraries and request items from other UH libraries.
Books related to education may be found in a number of areas within the library, which uses the Library of Congress call number scheme to put its books in order by subject.
| Subject Area | Call Numbers |
| L | Education (General) |
| LA | History of education |
| LB | Theory and practice of education |
| LC | Special aspects of education |
| LD | Individual institutions — United States |
| LE | Individual institutions — America (except United States) |
| LF | Individual institutions — Europe |
| LG | Individual institutions — Asia. Africa. Oceania |
| LH | College and school magazines and papers |
| LJ | Student fraternities and societies, United States |
| LT | Textbooks |
Subject headings used by the library, under which books on education can be located in most library catalogs, include the broad term of education. This will retrieve books and media on education in general as well as more specific aspects of the subject. Alternate terms that may be relevant are instruction and teaching.
Narrower Subject headings include:
education technology
early childhood education
higher education
multicultural education
special education
adult education
continuing education
distance education
vocational education
education and curriculum
education and sociology
education and psychology
educational tests and measurements
Subclasses in education
history and educationbiography and education
united states and education
The
library owns electronic books to supplement its printed collection.
These are especially useful for students who are not on campus. These are cataloged
in Voyager, and you can access them from either the catalog or the library homepage - under the column entitled
“Quick Links,” click on “eBooks.”
The OnlineBooks Page (http://onlinebooks.library.upenn.edu/) is a free website that has thousands of freely available eBooks. Search for education as a subject.
WorldCat.org (http://www.worldcat.org/) lists books, audiovisual materials, and other items held by some 18,000 libraries worldwide. Its 1.3 billion items may be searched by author, keyword, title, and ISBN.
Once you have found a title you're interested in, you need to check our library's Voyager catalog to see if we have the book.
If you’re interested in a title that is not held by UH Hilo or any other library in the UH system, you may ask us to try to obtain it via interlibrary loan. Please be aware that it can take from three to five weeks for such books to arrive here, and there may be fees. For more information and instructions on requesting material from other libraries, please see the Loans from Other Libraries page.
General Education Encyclopedias
Guthrie, James W. Encyclopedia of education.
New York : Macmillan Reference USA, 2003. Current information on education
topics; includes many resources for educators.
Reference Collection: LB15 .E47 2003
Patterson's American Education. Mount Prospect, Ill.: Educational
Directories. A directory to secondary education schools in the U.S., including
Middle Schools, Junior High Schools, Junior-Senior High Schools, High Schools,
K-12 Schools, and Vocational-Technical Schools. A separate section covers
Charter Schools.
Reference Collection: L 901
.P277
Unger,
Harlow G. Encyclopedia of American
Education. New York: Facts on File, 1996.
Reference Collection: LB17 .U54 1996
Specialized Encyclopedias
Appelbaum,
Peter. Multicultural and Diversity
Education. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2002. Origins, curriculum, case
studies, political and legal issues and barriers are chapter headings; also
included are associations and organizations and other resources.
Reference Collection: LC 1099.3
.A66
Encyclopedia of Distributed Learning. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage
Publications, 2004. Current, diverse information and resources for distance
educators; topics range from Adaptive Technology to Yield Management System.
Reference Collection: LC 5211 .E52
Encyclopedia of Special Education. New York: J. Wiley & Sons, 2000. Numerous authorities in Special ED on topics from AAMD Classification to Zygosity. In 3 volumes; articles' references are included.
Reference Collection: LC 4007 .E53
Rosenberg, Michael S. The Special Education Sourcebook. Rockville, Md.: Woodbine House, 1994. Resources for Special ED teachers; included are 'generic' and 'resource' books, multimedia resources, periodicals, organizations, and more.
Reference Collection: LC 3981 .R67
International Handbook of Early Childhood Education. New York: Garland Publishing, 1992. Alphabetical listing of countries with explanations of the philosophy, organization, curriculum, and other aspects of Early Childhood Education.
Reference Collection: LB1139.23 .I68 1992
Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia. New York: Garland, 1996. International scholars write referenced articles on influential philosophers and the ideas that have shaped education.
Reference Collection: LB17 .P485 1996
Encyclopedia of Educational Research. New York: Macmillan Publishing Co., 1992. A starting point for examining research in education. Arranged by broad topic.
Reference Collection: LB15 .E48 1992
Feinberg, Rosa Castro. Bilingual Education. Santa Barbara, Calif : ABC-CLIO, 2002. Explores the subject; agencies, organizations, and other resources are included.
Reference Collection: LC 3731 .F45
Horn, Raymond A. Understanding Educational Reform. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2002. Documents the terminology, history, chronology, politics, process, and other aspects of this timely topic.
Reference Collection: LA 209.2 .H58
Postlethwaite, T. Neville, ed. International Encyclopedia of National Systems of Education. 2nd ed. Oxford, U.K., Tarrytown, NY: Pergammon, 1995. Articles on education systems in other countries; included is background information about the system, administrative policies, and a review of significant reforms.
Reference Collection: LB43 .I584 1995
Craighead, W. Edward and Charles B. Nemeroff, eds. Encyclopedia of Psychology. New York: Wiley, 1996. Comprehensive, 4-volume encyclopedia for the field of psychology.
Reference Collection: BF31 .E52 2001
Barrow, Robin and G. Milburn. A Critical Dictionary of Educational Concepts. Brighton: Wheatsheaf, 1990. Examines and assesses key concepts in education.
Reference Collection: LB15 .B29 1990
Grant, Carl (ed.). Dictionary of Multicultural Education. Phoenix, Ariz.: Oryx Press, 1997. Scholars contribute defnitions of the terminology in this facet of education; articles include references.
Reference Collection: LC 1099 .D53
Leonard, David C. Learning Theories, A to Z. Westport, Conn.: Oryx Press, 2002. Brief explanations of topics related to learning theories; articles include a discussion of the theories' originators and the significant developments in their theories.
Electronic format for UHH / HawCC faculty, students, and staff.
LB 15 .L4695
McBrien, J. Lynn. The Language of Learning: a Guide to Education Terms. Alexandria, Va.: Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development, 1997. Explanations of common education 'jargon', for the lay person or professional. Includes resources for each topic, and an index by topic.
Reference Collection: LB 15 .M32
Mulford, Irene Veronica, PhD. (2004). Breaking the Cycle: The development of education for homeless adults in the state of Hawaii. (Doctoral Dissertation, University of Hawaii, 2004).
Nakama, Debra Aguinaldo, PhD. (2005). Leadership, power and collaboration: Understanding women educational leaders' experiences through a feminist lens (Hawaii). (Doctoral Dissertation, University of Hawaii, 2005).
National Education Association Almanac of Higher Education. Washington, D.C.: NEA Communications Services, year.
Reference Collection: LA227.3 .N37 year
U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. The Condition of Education. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Department of Education, year. Statistics on American education covering all levels including private and public systems. Provides summary of the current status of education.
Reference Collection: L112 .N377 year
U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. Digest of Education Statistics. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Department of Education, year. National statistical information on American education.
Reference Collection: L11 .D54 year
U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. Projections of Education Statistics to 2013. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Education, year. Part of biennial series presenting national projections of different educational indicators.
Reference Collection: LB 2846 .G4
Buros, Oscar K., ed. Tests in Print. Highland Park, N.J.: Gryphon Press, 1961. Bibliography of tests for use in education, psychology, and industry with concise descriptions of tests and references to reviews. Tests in Print II, III, IV and V also available.
Reference Collection: Z5814 .E9 B8
Buros, Oscar K. Mental Measurements Yearbook. Highland Park, N.J.: Gryphon Press (Institute of Mental Measurements), year. Contains names, prices, descriptions, and critical evaluations of testing instruments.
Reference Collection: Z5814 .P8 B932
Current issues of print periodicals are displayed on the Main Level behind the Reference area, arranged in broad subject areas. Most of our periodical backfiles are on the Upper Level, shelved alphabetically by title.
In order to find articles in periodicals on a specific topic, use one or more of the library's periodical indexes. Online indexes of most value in education are:
ERIC
Over one million citations to journal articles and reports on all aspects of education, with abstracts (article summaries). Resources in Education ( RIE) indexes reports, and Current Index to Journals in Education ( CIJE) indexes journal articles. RIE material from 1982 to present is available on microfiche on the Main Level. Full-text of ERIC documents (ED) is now available for 1993 to present.
Education Research Complete
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals; also includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
Chronicle of Higher Education
Provides full text of the online edition for 1995 to the present.
Professional Development Collection
Provides a collection of over 450 full text journals, designed for professional educators.
Academic Search Premier
General periodical indexes and full text articles on all subjects.
JSTOR
About 240 full-text periodicals cover a wide range of topics, including Asia, Africa, and Middle-East Studies, History, Economics, Political Science, Ecology, Botany, Biology, and other fields. Some periodicals date back to the 19th C. All citations have full-text.
LexisNexis Academic
Provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications.
Finding Articles in Print and Online
The vast majority of journals we have available are now online. In order to find out if we have access to a journal, either in print format or online, use the “Find Periodicals” box on the library’s homepage. Type in the title of the journal (not the title of the article within the journal).
If we have it online, a link will be provided to the journal's homepage, from which you may find the specific issue and article you’re looking for. If we have the journal in print format, the system will take you to the Voyager catalog record for the journal. It will tell you what years we have, and most likely will tell you we keep the journal in the Periodical Backfile Collection on the Upper Level of the Library.
Browsing Education Journals
If you would like to see what education journals we have access to, you may do so from the Find Articles page of the library’s website.
Obtaining Articles from Journals the Library Does Not Have
Students may often obtain articles from journals to which the library does not subscribe. Through a process called intrasystem loan, this library requests articles from another library in the UH system. Fees may apply.
If no library in the UH system subscribes to a journal, it may still be possible for us to obtain the article through interlibrary loan. For this service, we request items from libraries outside the UH system. Students may request ILL for a fee per article. It may take from three to five weeks to receive the article.
National Center for Education Statistics
"NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the United States and other nations."
National Library of Education (NLE)
Provides information on the U.S. Department of Education's National Library of Education, which serves as a principle center for access to educational research.
Federal Resources for Education Excellence
Makes hundreds of Internet-based education resources easier to access for students and teacher
Education in Hawaii
All about education, from the State Government.
Peterson’s Education Portal
Help plan your education
Educator's Reference Desk
From the "Information Institute of Syracuse", links are provided to Resources, Lesson Plans, Question Archives, and an ERIC search feature.
Education World
Searches over 50,000 sites, also has a teachers' forum, monthly reviews of top education sites, education news, "cool school of the week" sites awards, and other resources just for educators.
SERI Special Education Resources on the Internet (SERI)
A collection of Internet accessible information resources of interest to those involved in the fields related to Special Education.
United States Distance Learning Association
Promotes the development and application of distance learning for education and training.
Distance education Clearing House
A comprehensive and widely recognized Web site bringing together distance education information from Wisconsin, national, and international sources. New information and resources are being added to the Distance Education Clearinghouse on a continual basis.
The Distance Education Training Council
A non-profit educational association that serves as a clearinghouse of information about the distance study/correspondence field.
ADEC Distance Education Consortium
An international consortium of state universities and land grant institutions providing high quality and economic distance education programs and services via the latest and most appropriate information technologies.
National PTA
Promotes the education, health, and safety of children and families.
Virtual Schoolhouse Computer Lab
A section of the Virtual Schoolhouse homepage that includes information on software (including shareware), networking, creating homepages using HTML and other misc. "web stuff".
Google Directory for Educational Testing
US Department of Education
This DOE page offers a multitude of information including research guides, publications and local programs and services.
National Education Association
Provides information on the National Education Association, which is dedicated to advancing the cause of public education in the United States.
American Federation of Teachers
Represents 940,000 teachers, school support staff, higher education faculty and staff, health care professionals, and state and local government employees.
American Association of School Administrators
Provides information for school administrators.
ED.Gov
Listing of Educational Associations & Organizations